Skip to main content

Super Tuesday 2020: States, polls closing times, how to watch online for free

super tuesday will feature moments from Sen. Bernie Sanders, Sen. Elizabeth Warren and former Vice President Joe Biden
(Image credit: Mario Tama/Getty Images)

Super Tuesday is here and it's time to see how 14 of the 50 states will vote in their primaries. Here's what you need to know about which states are voting, and when to expect results.

Super Tuesday 2020 quick facts

Polls start closing at 7 p.m. ET in Vermont and Virginia
California is the last poll to close, at 11 p.m. ET.

We head into Super Tuesday with a smaller pack, as South Bend, IN mayor Pete Buttigieg and Minnesota senator Amy Klobuchar dropping out after the South Carolina primary results. That state's primary gave Joe Biden the upward momentum it so desperately needed.

FiveThirtyEight's odds currently put "No one" in the lead for earning the nomination, with 3 in 5 odds. United States vice president Joe Biden jumped to 2nd place, with 3 in 10 odds, and Bernie Sanders moved to third with 1 in 12 odds.

We typically begin to get state-specific results when polls close in each state, and that means those of us on the Eastern seaboard will be up late to see how California votes. That being said, this is 2020 and we can all still see the Iowa caucus in our rear view mirror, so I'm not expecting any certain answers until I wake up on Wednesday.

How to follow Super Tuesday with a VPN

Sure, some of us go on vacation to escape life, but what about those who want to keep using their live TV streaming service when they're abroad? A virtual private network, or VPN, can help you connect to your desired streaming service through a U.S. server and watch the fights as if you were at home.

We've evaluated many VPN services, and our top pick is ExpressVPN. It meets the VPN needs of the vast majority of users, offering outstanding compatibility with most devices and impressive connection speeds.

ExpressVPN can access more than 3,000 servers spread out across 160 locations in 94 countries. The service performed reliably in our testing, and we found customer service responsive.View Deal

How to watch Super Tuesday results 

Those with cable have the easiest path to watching the returns come in. Just turn on the 24-7 news network of your choice and let the data follow. You can also tune in on a web browser, but you'll need to sign in with your provider (CNN and MSNBC give you a small window to sample for free, first).

How to live stream Super Tuesday without cable

Already cut the cord? These live-streaming TV services offer news networks, as listed below:

The Sling TV Sling Blue package includes more than 45 channels, including CNN, Fox News and MSNBC. It's also got select Fox and NBC broadcasts.View Deal

Hulu with Live TV includes ABC News, CBSN, CNN and CNN International, Fox News, MSNBC and Telemundo (where Decisión 2020: Supermartes Latino airs at 10pm). It's also got local broadcast networks from ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC and The CW, which have varying Super Tuesday specials, or cut into live broadcasts.View Deal

YouTube TV has more than 70 channels, with strong 24-7 news network options, including BBC World News, CNBC, CNN, FOX News Channel, MSNBC and Telemundo. You also get the major local networks: ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC.View Deal

Watch Super Tuesday results for free

With one of our best TV antennas, you can grab the election news from a local network. ABC, CBS and NBC are airing national election specials. Fox does not advertise such an event. Locast.org also offers free streams of local channels.

ABC from 8 p.m. to 11 p.m.: Super Tuesday: Your Voice, Your Vote 2020

CBS from 8 p.m. to 11 p.m.: CBS News Election Special – Super Tuesday: High Stakes

NBC from 8 p.m. to 9 p.m.: NBC News Decision 2020 Super Tuesday
NBC from 10 p.m. to 11 p.m.: NBC News Decision 2020 Super Tuesday

Super Tuesday polling times, state by state

7 p.m. Eastern

  • Vermont
  • Virginia

7:30 p.m. Eastern

  • North Carolina

8 p.m. Eastern

  • Alabama (7 p.m. Central)
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Oklahoma (7 p.m. Central)
  • Texas (7 p.m. Central)
  • Eastern Tennessee
  • Western Tennessee (7 p.m. Central)

8:30 p.m. Eastern

  • Arkansas (7:30 p.m. Central)

9 p.m. Eastern

  • Colorado (7 p.m. Mountain time) 
  • Minnesota (8 p.m. Central time)

10 p.m. Eastern

  • Utah (8 p.m. Mountain time)

11 p.m. Eastern (8 p.m. Pacific)

  • California

(Image credit: Future)