Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Wireless USB to HDMI/PC-To-TV Streaming Devices

Gear To Help You Ditch Cable or Satellite Subscription
By

Enter our contest to win one of three devices to help you bring video to your HDTV...in other words, devices to help you say goodbye to the cable company.

The idea is a simple one. You want to watch video that’s playing on your computer, but you want to see it on your flatscreen TV. Instead of getting a gadget that connects an Internet connection to your TV set via wifi or Ethernet, consider one of these handy devices. Plug the USB dongle into your computer, then set the base station near your TV so that it can plug directly into the HDMI port. All three of these devices use some flavor of wireless USB to HDMI, and all three work basically the same way: plug and play. The wireless USB system sends audio over to the TV as well. The only catch? You can’t browse the web and watch video at the same time using the computer, otherwise your dozens of browser tabs will show up on your TV, too. These devices put whatever is on your computer screen onto your TV screen, so be careful.

Iogear’s version—“Wireless 1080p Computer to HDTV Kit”—requires the installation of software and drivers in order to stream your screen up to 30 feet away. It has an HDMI/VGA/DVI output and a 3.5mm audio jack for stereo sound.

Click here to read reviews of the Iogear Wireless 1080p Computer to HDTV Kit on Newegg.com


Warpia’s Wireless USB Audio and Video PC to TV/Projector Display Converter Kit does much the same thing, but touts its ability to work with projectors as well. While all these devices require “line of sight” between the USB adapter and the base station, Warpia is very up front about that necessity. It supports resolutions up to SXGA+ (1400x1050) and HD Video up to 720p. Audio can go through the HDMI output or the stereo jack. HDMI cable is included—nice touch.

Click here to read reviews of the Warpia USB Audio and Video PC to TV Converter Kit on Newegg.com


A third option—Diamond V-Stream PCTV1080H Wireless PC to TV Interface—also exists. It features a slightly more futuristic design, and the ability for three audio-video adapters to be operated simultaneously with one PC adapter.

Click here to read reviews of the Diamond V-Stream PCTV1080H Wireless PC to TV Interface at Newegg.com


Display all 13 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 2 Hide
    burnley14 , September 29, 2011 6:32 PM
    I could just be an idiot, but I didn't see where to enter the contest.
  • 0 Hide
    torque79 , September 29, 2011 8:37 PM
    boxee + NAS sounds like a really nice combination that could be set up and used by non-techies. I've never tried boxee and my hard drive capacity needs are far higher than what I could afford in a NAS so I've got an HTPC with 3 2tb hard drives in it, and I'll soon need another drive. This solution is not for a technophobe, but windows media center is hardly difficult to control with my logitech harmony remote, especially coupled with Media Browser software.
  • 0 Hide
    shoelessinsight , September 29, 2011 8:45 PM
    I believe that this article is missing the link to enter the contest. I see the sentence, "Click here to enter our contest to win prizes...", but there is no link.

    So many devices to stream video from the internet on one's TV, and yet I still find a home theater PC the best way to go. Who cares if Hulu is a brat about streaming to TV devices? It will still stream through a standard web browser.
  • 0 Hide
    pacioli , September 29, 2011 8:54 PM
    I'll enter! How?
  • 0 Hide
    ram1009 , September 29, 2011 10:05 PM
    FYI, the WD Hub is very flaky. The forums are full of people with problems many of which are caused by firmware upgrades. How do I know? I'm one of them. It works great when it works. You need to pay attention to what's being upgraded with each firmware upgrade. If there's nothing you need then don't upgrade.
  • 0 Hide
    superhighperf , September 29, 2011 10:49 PM
    FYI the iogear has dropped win7 support for their wireless device. i got that from chatting with tech support.

    i have it and don't use it because they do not support in anymore :( 
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , September 29, 2011 11:32 PM
    Hi everyone,

    Just in case you didn't see the note I left on the bottom of the first page...

    [Editor's Note: So we goofed and forgot to create a contest page for the prizes in this article. We are still doing a contest for the Boxee Box, WDTV hub and USB-to-HDMI kit, but the link won't be live until tonight or very early tomorrow. We apologize for the inconvenience. -Devin Connors, Tom's Guide]

    Devin Connors, Tom's Guide
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , September 30, 2011 12:24 AM
    The contest link is live! Check the first page of the article for details.
    -Devin Connors, Tom's Guide
  • 2 Hide
    Device Unknown , September 30, 2011 1:28 AM
    Online Survey Not Found
    I’m sorry, we could not find
    the survey you requested
  • 0 Hide
    JustPlainJef , September 30, 2011 10:36 AM
    Yes, link is live, but it doesn't go anywhere. Survey isn't found.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 30, 2011 1:55 PM
    All you need is a PS3, or an HTPC chances are people already have one or the other. If you dont, go out and buy one. It will cost a lot less than paying that $100+ sat bill. Think of the return on investment, 3 months worth of sat = PS3. You dont need to factor the internet in because you already have it (I pray you arent using your sat for internet, I feel your pain if you are and suggest you move just for that reason alone.)

    Bonus = People that use 4G service from Sprint and have it available at their house can use it for streaming purposes as well!

    I pay my cell phone w/ unlimited data plan, thats it! Streaming everything to my HTPC's and PS3's depending on which room of the house your in.

    I've been Sat, cable, lan line, local internet free for over 1 1/2 years. It feels good, kinda like finishing up a AAA meeting :) 
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , September 30, 2011 11:19 PM
    Device UnknownOnline Survey Not FoundI’m sorry, we could not findthe survey you requested


    JustPlainJefYes, link is live, but it doesn't go anywhere. Survey isn't found.


    Sorry about all the hassle with this survey link, guys. I just fixed the problem, and double checked to make sure it works. Enter away!

    -Devin Connors, Tom's Guide
  • 0 Hide
    jms22 , November 14, 2011 4:30 AM
    These devices still have a looooong way to go in order to compete with cable and satellite. It all be perfect if cable companies just dropped their excesive prices a little, but since they still dont see any competition from the above, its not going to happen. People should do an OCCUPY CABLE protest.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter