Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Monitor Roundup: 23"-25"

Monitor Roundup: 23"-25"
By

If you're looking into buying monitors above the 22-inch range, here are a trio of 23-25-inch monitors that will impress in every category,

Films

Like the majority of LCD monitors, the HH251P tends to struggle with films. Blacks are washed out because of its weak contrast ratio.

Because there's no real image correction, upscaling is rather mediocre. You're better off with a dedicated source to do that for you.

This monitor from HannsG represents a very strong challenge to some of its competitors. 

The HH251HP is a 25-inch screen with a Full HD (1920x1080), 2 ms TN panel inside and two HDMI ports on the outside, all for the price of a basic 22-inch 5 ms monitor. Given it's low MSRP, you might think that it would only have a rather minimal set of features, but you'd be wrong!

Connectivity and Design



The hardware features include two 1.5 W speakers, a VGA port and two HDMI inputs.  That means you can connect several sources to the monitor at once, such as a computer, a games console and a DVD player.  If your computer only has a DVI output, there's no need to panic, as HannsG includes a HDMI to DVI adapter. The outside of the monitor is pretty basic but attractive enough.  As is often the case, it includes glossy black plastic at the front and a matte finish behind.  Only the stand serves to remind us that this is a cheaper screen, because it neither rotates nor turns from side to side.  That's why it only scores two stars in this section.

This is the first HannsG monitor that we've tested, so some of you might be wondering who's behind this company.  Well, its name comes from the Taiwanese manufacturer HannStar, which despite being relatively unknown, has grown since 1998 to become the world's fifth-largest supplier of LCD panels for computer monitors.

Colors



Using its default settings, the colors on the HH251HP are accurate, and our measurement showed that the monitor had a deltaE score of 2.5.  That's a very good result, but you can improve it even further.  You need to access the Color menu and change from 'Natural' to 'Warm', which causes the colors to reach a deltaE of 2.1.

If colors are this monitors's strong point, then having deep blacks is definitely its weakness.  A good screen should get down to 0.1 cd/m², producing a contrast ratio of 1500:1.  Here, the HH251HP is a little behind the average with blacks at 0.3 cd/m² creating a contrast ratio of 711:1.  Black areas appear a slightly lighter shade of grey, as you can see in the test card above.

Response

The HH251HP is a responsive screen that produces the 2 ms response time that HannsG claims for it.  However, the most observant viewers might notice a very small amount of black ghosting, as you can see on the photo below.  This reverse ghosting, a shadow effect, is not as pronounced as on some Philips and Iiyama monitors that we've recently criticized for this problem.

As well as being responsive, the HH251HP has a low enough input lag to allow you to game without any problems.  With an average delay of less than one frame, this monitor won't have any effect on your multiplayer performance.

HannsG HH251HP
ProsCons
  • Responsive
  • Accurate default colors
  • Connectivity: 2 HDMI and 1 VGA
  • Good price
  • TN panel, so poor vertical viewing angles
  • Below average contrast: blacks lack depth

With accurate default colors, responsiveness to rival the best of the bunch and 2 HDMI inputs and 1 VGA:, HannsG has created a screen that's excellent value for money. There are better options out there, of course, but they cost a lot more.

Display 14 Comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    Zoonie , December 2, 2009 12:49 AM
    This was a nice write-up, but I think a few more monitors in the test would add relevance to a comparison article.
  • 2 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , December 2, 2009 2:49 AM
    I agree with Zoonie. A few more monitors in the round-up would have been good. I do realise that Tom's Hardware is dominated by gamers but I would like to see reviews of monitors for professional digital imaging.
  • 0 Hide
    mohsh86 , December 2, 2009 4:37 AM
    i would like to see mine which is rare to review,

    The P2570 & P2570HD
  • 3 Hide
    tanderskey , December 2, 2009 5:05 AM
    I'll double he agreement and ask, when you review two samsungs and a single hannsg should that really be called a monitor round up of 23 - 25 inchers? I'd really expect to see at least a handful within low medium and high price points -- so 15 total. Otherwise maybe don't call it a "roundup" in the title or you risk disappointing your gentle readers.

    Also, whatever happened to monitors with built in USB ports. They're getting awfully hard to find but I certainly don't mind paying extra for extra convenient connectivity right up there on top of my desk.

  • 0 Hide
    Tomsguiderachel , December 2, 2009 6:22 PM
    For the record, we publish reviews of monitors as the review units come in to our reviewers. So, if you want more monitors in a round up we wouldn't be able to udpate you about products as early.
  • 0 Hide
    magius , December 2, 2009 7:43 PM
    You mention having seen PVA panels with just 0.5 frames of ghosting. Could you elaborate which models fit this description? I'm in the market for a new monitor and would love to get something with nice color accuracy while keeping ghosting to a bare minimum.
  • 2 Hide
    Zoonie , December 2, 2009 10:39 PM
    TomsguiderachelFor the record, we publish reviews of monitors as the review units come in to our reviewers. So, if you want more monitors in a round up we wouldn't be able to udpate you about products as early.Rachel


    Rachel,
    How about having one article with all monitors, and then update it with the new products whenever they come in? You could make a whole new article every year or 6 months, but during that time just keep updating the article with new products.
  • 2 Hide
    kittle , December 3, 2009 6:59 PM
    more monitors would be better - but also please list the SAME technical detials for all the monitors.
    Size?
    response time? (even though you dont think it matters)
    native resolution? -- i only saw resolution numbers for 1 monitor.
    results of your tests? -- only 1 review had the contrast ratio graphic.
  • 2 Hide
    tjaisv , December 4, 2009 4:40 AM
    I agree that this roundup definitely needs more monitors in it. This is a major review site and as such we would expect more inclusive reviews. Not to depreciate the quality of this roundup though, it's very well presented, it just needs more content ie more monitors presented.
  • 0 Hide
    americanbrian , December 4, 2009 9:32 PM
    I think you should do a round up of monitors with displayport inputs. What with everyone and their uncle buying the eyefinity GPU's from AMD we need to know which ones are a good deal for a tri screen setup
  • 0 Hide
    overshocks2 , December 13, 2009 1:55 AM
    whats the graph on page 2 suppose to mean with the faces..i don't get it
  • 0 Hide
    overshocks2 , December 13, 2009 2:03 AM
    You guys contradicted yourselves?

    "Samsung has chosen a 5 ms TN panel for this screen. First-person shooter games like Quake, Unreal or Call of Duty could prove difficult. To be more precise, you might find it difficult to tolerate the blurry rendering of fast-moving objects. However, it's responsive enough for other users, and office use, web browsing and non-FPS titles.


    The input lag is under two framers per second, and will therefore go undetected during your multiplayer games."

    First, you said it's not good for FPS, then you said it's okay..
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , December 25, 2009 2:10 PM
    hello everyone

    does anybody know what is the usb port (called "service") for?
  • 0 Hide
    RWRamo , March 18, 2010 5:05 PM
    Thanks for the article. I will be needing some good to know facts to be good to go in the near future on monitor replacements. Interesting Tip regarding the 2380 vs 2380M from Samsung. As someone previously stated it would be nice to have more cards in the hand. But, it is also relevant that it is better to have the information on some available immediately.

    Personally I have been burned equipment in the past. Simple enough to quietly shuffle the crap off to sections out of sight out of mind until depreciated out of relevancy off the fixture tables.

    Per the manufacturers that do not submit their products for reviews? Keep them on the shelf. If I cannot quickly find a trustworthy thumb up or down article I just do not consider them anymore.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter