Taylor Swift Evermore album is here— how to stream it now

Taylor Swift new album Evermore
(Image credit: Jun Sato/TAS18 / Getty Images)
Taylor Swift new album release date

Evermore is streaming now, after dropping at midnight, Friday, December 11, on major platforms including Spotify, Apple Music and Amazon Music.

Put on your cardigan, Betty: TS9 is coming in hot. Taylor Swift's new album Evermore has hit the streaming services. What better way to celebrate her (almost) 31st birthday than with a new record? Yes, Taylor is showing that shocking new albums can drop twice in a single year — she's been busy during this pandemic.

On the morning of Dec. 10, Swift shocked fans with the surprise announcement of the album. The megastar first teased the chance of big news out by posting 9 images to Instagram over 4 minutes, and once the first three were up, we had an inkling of an idea. The full set of 9 images combine to reveal the album art — Swift, from behind, in the woods. 

Then, at 9:04 a.m. ET, she made it official, posting "I’m elated to tell you that my 9th studio album, and Folklore’s sister record, will be out tonight at midnight eastern. It’s called evermore."

As she said, this is the sibling to her July record Folklore. Swift's description of the process behind it makes that all the more clear: "To put it plainly, we just couldn’t stop writing songs. To try and put it more poetically, it feels like we were standing on the edge of the folklorian woods and had a choice: to turn and go back or to travel further into the forest of this music. We chose to wander deeper in."

Swifties have already guessed that this album has some significance for the icon, coming out two days before her 31st birthday. As Swift tweeted, "Ever since I was 13, I’ve been excited about turning 31 because it’s my lucky number backwards, which is why I wanted to surprise you with this now."

At the same time as the album drop, we also got the first video from Evermore. Swift posted that "willow" will get a video at midnight, alongside the album release. She even said she's going to interact with fans, posting "I’ll see you guys in the YouTube premiere page chat before midnight to answer some questions."

Evermore track list

Via social media posts, Swift revealed the full track list and some of the guests and crew for the album. Familiar highlighted guests include Bon Iver and The National (whose guitarist Aaron Dessner helped produce Folklore) and the band Haim. 

Swift also tweeted that Jack Antonoff, William Bowery (aka Swift's boyfriend Joe Alwyn), Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon were among her collaborators in the songwriting process. 

The standard edition of Evermore will have 15 tracks, while the deluxe physical edition has two bonus tracks: "right where you left me" and "it’s time to go."

Here's the full track list: 

  1. Willow
  2. Champagne Problems
  3. Gold Rush
  4. 'Tis the Damn Season
  5. Tolerate it
  6. No Body, No Crime (feat. Haim)
  7. Happiness
  8. Dorothea
  9. Coney Island (Feat. The National)
  10. Ivy
  11. Cowboy LIke Me
  12. Long Short Story
  13. Marjorie
  14. Closure
  15. Evermore (feat. Bon Iver)
  16. Right where you left me **
  17. It's time to go **

** = deluxe edition bonus track

How to listen to Taylor Swift's Evermore

TS9, Evermore, dropped at midnight on Dec. 11 on all major platforms, including Spotify and Apple Music.

The physical editions can be purchased at store.taylorswift.com starting at $9.99.

Taylor Swift's Willow video

And, as promised, Swift delivered her first video for the Evermore album, for Willow. It's got serious fairy tale vibes, and a bit of the hygge aesthetic too.

Henry T. Casey
Managing Editor (Entertainment, Streaming)

Henry is a managing editor at Tom’s Guide covering streaming media, laptops and all things Apple, reviewing devices and services for the past seven years. Prior to joining Tom's Guide, he reviewed software and hardware for TechRadar Pro, and interviewed artists for Patek Philippe International Magazine. He's also covered the wild world of professional wrestling for Cageside Seats, interviewing athletes and other industry veterans.