F1 Japanese Grand Prix live stream 2024 — how to watch full race and highlights, results

Max Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the (1) Oracle Red Bull Racing RB19 on track during the F1 Grand Prix of Japan at Suzuka International Racing Course on September 24, 2023 in Suzuka, Japan.
(Image credit: Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

Max Verstappen had again taken pole position in qualifying for the Japan Grand Prix, with the Dutchman's Red Bull team-mate Sergio Perez completing a one-two on the front row of for the British-Austrian team. 

Perez was just 0.066 seconds back and Lando Norris, Carlos Sainz and even an improved Lewis Hamilton qualifying well, there was plenty of intrigue as to who would emerge on top in Tokyo. The race itself didn't disappoint and you'll not want to miss a second of it, either with a full race replay or extended highlights. 

We won't spoil the results for you here. Instead, we've put the full race results at the very bottom of this page. Before that there are links to highlights and full race reviews to check out all the action from Suzuka.

We'll explain in this article how to watch Japan Grand Prix live streams from anywhere with a VPN — and potentially for FREE — as well as share all the information on the weekend schedule, global start times, race circuit and more.

When is the 2024 Japanese Grand Prix?

The 2024 Japanese GP takes place on Sunday, April 7 at 1 a.m. ET / 6 a.m. BST. That's 2 p.m. local time in Suzuka, Japan.

Note that on the West coast of the U.S., the 2024 race starts on Saturday, April 6 at 10 p.m. PT.

How to watch Japan Grand Prix 2024 on TV

The 2024 Japan Grand Prix was shown live and in full on ESPN in the U.S. That included all the F1 race weekend practice sessions and qualifying, as well as the race itself.

In the U.K., F1 broadcasting rights belong to Sky TV. Fox Sports is the F1 rights holder in Australia. We have full information on watching F1 on TV here.

Japan Grand Prix FREE highlights

Not long after the completion of each Grand Prix, the official Formula 1 YouTube channel puts a 5-10 minute highlight package out of the race.

You can find the free Japanese Grand Prix highlights right here.

Alternatively, the U.K.'s free to watch Channel 4 streaming service hosts an extended highlights program of two hours. To watch that coverage outside of the U.K., you'll need need to use a good VPN — full details below.

Japan Grand Prix Live Streams

You can watch the Japanese Grand Prix with one of these live streaming services, without the expense of a cable or satellite TV package:

Image

There's a good reason you've heard of NordVPN. We specialize in testing and reviewing VPN services and NordVPN is the one we rate best. It's outstanding at unblocking streaming services, it's fast and it has top-level security features too. With over 5,000 servers, across 60 countries, and at a great price too, it's easy to recommend.

<a href="http://go.nordvpn.net/aff_c?offer_id=564&url_id=10992&aff_id=3013&aff_click_id=hawk-custom-tracking&aff_sub2=hawk-article-url" data-link-merchant="go.nordvpn.net"" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">Try the $3.99 per month plan for the best value

Japan Grand Prix schedule 2024

The 2024 Japanese Grand Prix schedule is as follows:

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Header Cell - Column 0 U.K. (BST)U.S. (ET / PT)Australia (AEST)
Practice 13:30 a.m.10:30 p.m. (Thu) / 7:30 p.m. (Thu)12:30 p.m.
Practice 27 a.m.2 a.m. / 11 p.m. (Thu)4 p.m.
Practice 33:30 a.m.10:30 p.m. (Fri) / 7:30 p.m. (Fri)12:30 p.m.
Qualifying7 a.m.2 a.m. / 11 p.m. (Fri)4 p.m.
Grand Prix6 a.m.1 a.m. / 10 p.m. (Sat)3 p.m.

What time is the Japan Grand Prix worldwide?

Lights out for the start of the 2024 Japanese Grand Prix is set for 2 p.m. local time in Suzuka on Sunday, April 7. Here are the 2024 Japan Grand Prix start times in Europe, India, South Africa and other worldwide locations:

  • 10 p.m. PST – Pacific Standard Time (Sat, Apr. 6)
  • 11 p.m. MST – Mountain Standard Time (Sat, Apr. 6)
  • 12 a.m. CST – Central Standard Time
  • 1 a.m. EST – Mexico City, Mexico
  • 1 a.m. EST – Eastern Standard Time
  • 2 a.m. BRT – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • 6 a.m. BST – United Kingdom
  • 7 a.m. CET – Central Europe
  • 7 a.m. SAST – South Africa
  • 9 a.m. GST – Dubai, UAE
  • 10:30 a.m. IST – New Delhi, India 
  • 12 p.m. WIB – Jakarta, Indonesia
  • 1 p.m. CST – Beijing, China
  • 3 p.m. AEST – Australia
  • 5 p.m. NZST – New Zealand

Japan Grand Prix circuit

Map of Suzuka International Racing Course at Japanese Grand Prix

(Image credit: By Will Pittenger - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=8986552)

The 2024 Japan Grand Prix takes place over 53 laps of the 5.807-kilometre Suzuka International Racing Course in Japan.

Roughly 400km west of Tokyo, Suzuka has long been one of the favorite circuits to visit of Formula 1 drivers. The combination of full-throttle straights and white-knuckle chicanes makes it a genuine challenge of the elite drivers' talents. And for fans, the crossover makes it an unforgettable spectacle.

It helps that the Japanese Grand Prix has also been the venue for several exciting crescendos to the F1 season. The battles between Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost in 1988 and 1990, and Michael Schumacher and Mika Hakkinen in 1998 will all live long in motor sport fans' memories.

Japan Grand Prix FAQ

So, that's how to watch the Japanese Grand Prix and all the race timings sorted. Now here's an F1 Japan FAQ for everything else you want to know about the upcoming race.

What is the starting grid for the 2024 Japanese GP?

We've got all the details below of the starting grid for the big race in Tokyo. Read on to find out where your favorite driver will start raceday on Sunday.

Max Verstappen is on pole position and Sergio Perez completes a Red Bull one-two on the front row of the grid. Land Norris is third in the McLaren and Carlos Sainz fourth in the Ferrari.

1 Max Verstappen RED BULL 1:28.197
2 Sergio Perez RED BULL 1:28.263
3 Lando Norris MCLAREN  1:28.489
4 Carlos Sainz FERRARI 1:28.682
5 Fernando Alonso ASTON MARTIN 1:28.686
6 Oscar Piastri MCLAREN 1:28.760
7 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 1:28.766
8 Charles Leclerc FERRARI 1:28.786
9 George Russell MERCEDES 1:29.008
10 Yuki Tsunoda  HONDA 1:29.413
11 Daniel Ricciardo HONDA 1:29.472
12 Nico Hulkenberg HAAS 1:29.494
13 Valtteri Bottas KICK SAUBER 1:29.593
14 Alexander Albon WILLIAMS 1:29.714
15 Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT 1:29.816
16 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN 1:30.024
17 Pierre Gasly ALPINE RENAULT 1:30.119
18 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 1:30.131
19 Logan Sargeant WILLIAMS 1:30.139
20 Zhou Guanyu KICK SAUBER 1:30.143

What are the odds and predictions for the 2024 Japanese GP?

Max Verstappen is a strong favorite to get back to winning ways at the Japanese Grand Prix, with Bet365 putting him at 1/5 to win (ahead of qualifying).

The Dutchman's Red Bull team-mate Sergio Perez is next in line with the bookies at 11/1 to win, with the Ferraris of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz at 12/1 and 16/1 respectively. Lando Norris in the McLaren is next at 20/1.

What will the weather be like for the 2024 Japan GP?

Eyes will be looking skywards for much of this weekend in Tokyo.

Anything could happen at the Japan Grand Prix with rain forecast for much of the weekend. Qualifying on Saturday seems likely to feature the odd shower, with heavy rain forecast for the morning of raceday on Sunday.

We all know what sort of effect that can have on grip and downforce, so could we be in for an unexpected winner in Asia?

When is the next race?

The 2024 Chinese GP follows the Japan GP. There's another two-week gap between race weekends, with the next Grand Prix taking place at the Shanghai International Circuit on Sunday, April 21.

Who won the 2023 Japan Grand Prix?

Red Bull's Max Verstappen won the 2023 Japanese GP, finishing with a time of 1:30:58.421 — almost 20 seconds ahead of 2nd place.

It was the second of back-to-back wins at Suzuka for the Dutch driver. Having stormed to pole position, Verstappen led pretty much from grid to checkered flag. McLaren drivers Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri joined him on the podium.

What is the lap record at Japan Grand Prix?

Lewis Hamilton set the lap record at the Suzuka Circuit during his title-winning 2019 season with a time of 1:30.983.

Japan Grand Prix winners

Champion Max Verstappen may have won successive Japan Grand Prix, but he still has a way to go to match the record six wins recorded by Michael Schumacher.

Depending on how Lewis Hamilton's season goes at Mercedes, he will have a chance to match Schumacher's tally. The last of his five wins came in 2018.

Another German driver, Sebastian Vettel, won four Japanese GPs in five years between 2009 and 2013.

More from Tom's Guide

VPN statement

(Image credit: Future)

What are the odds and predictions for the 2024 Australia GP?

Max Verstappen is the heaviest of favorites to pick up a third race victory out of three in 2024, with Bet365 putting him at 1/5 to win (ahead of qualifying).

Charles Leclerc of Ferrari and Verstappen's Red Bull team-mate are priced next priced at 6/1 and 14/1 respectively.

What are the odds and predictions for the 2024 Australia GP?

Max Verstappen is the heaviest of favorites to pick up a third race victory out of three in 2024, with Bet365 putting him at 1/5 to win (ahead of qualifying).

Charles Leclerc of Ferrari and Verstappen's Red Bull team-mate are priced next priced at 6/1 and 14/1 respectively.

Japan Grand Prix 2024 results

1 Max Verstappen RED BULL
2 Sergio Perez RED BULL
3 Carlos Sainz FERRARI
4 Charles Leclerc FERRARI
5 Lando Norris MCLAREN
6 Fernando Alonso ASTON MARTIN
7 George Russell MERCEDES
8 Oscar Piastri MCLAREN
9 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES
10 Yuki Tsunoda RB HONDA
11 Nico Hulkenberg HAAS
12 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN
13 Kevin Magnussen HAAS
14 Valtteri Bottas KICK SAUBER
15 Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT
16 Pierre Gasly ALPINE RENAULT
17 Logan Sargeant WILLIAMS

DNF Zhou Guanyu KICK SAUBER
DNF Daniel Ricciardo RB HONDA
DNF Alexander Albon WILLIAMS MERCEDES

Note - Verstappen scored an additional point for setting the fastest lap of the race.

Contributor

Adam was the Content Director of Subscriptions and Services at Future, meaning that he oversaw many of the articles the publisher produces about antivirus software, VPN, TV streaming, broadband and mobile phone contracts - from buying guides and deals news, to industry interest pieces and reviews. Adam can still be seen dusting his keyboard off to write articles for the likes of TechRadar, T3 and Tom's Guide, having started his career at consumer champions Which?.