Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

PS4 vs. Xbox One: Which Console Wins?

PS4 vs. Xbox One: Which Console Wins?
By

The launch smoke has cleared and gamers have officially entered the era of next-generation gaming. In one corner, you have the $499 Xbox One, a gaming console that wants to be the center of your living room experience. Complete with live TV integration, as well as a revamped Kinect 2, controller and interface, the One is a force to be reckoned with.

In the other corner is the PS4. Positioning itself as the gamer’s console, the $399 PS4 offers an innovative controller, a heavy emphasis on social and Remote Play capabilities allowing gamers to play anywhere in the house.

But which system is the right system for your gaming and entertainment needs? Read on to find out.

Display 53 Comments.
  • 1 Hide
    Lin Zhao , December 5, 2013 9:38 AM
    This article doesn't mention the specs difference on GPU at all, and it's one of the most important factors to rate a gaming console. PS4's GPU is about 50% more powerful. As a result Xbox One needs to run COD Ghost and bf4 at a lower resolution than PS4.
  • 6 Hide
    xxsk8er101xx , December 5, 2013 10:03 AM
    And the reason why the PS4 is faster is because it uses GDDR5 vRAM verses xbox one's DDR3 RAM. The extra bandwidth in the GDDR5 for PS4 makes the overall system faster. The controller is better on the PS4 - I have it and I like it better. I could care less about the camera/kinect thing. I completely disagree on entertainment as I have a TV for that. The only thing I agree with is the games. There aren't that many games out as promised for the PS4.

    Other than that the PS4 is better. Games will come out for it especially now that they are off the cell architecture and on a standard x86 architecture that everyone knows. You'll see games flooding in.
  • -3 Hide
    xxsk8er101xx , December 5, 2013 10:43 AM
    And the reason why the PS4 is faster is because it uses GDDR5 vRAM verses xbox one's DDR3 RAM. The extra bandwidth in the GDDR5 for PS4 makes the overall system faster. The controller is better on the PS4 - I have it and I like it better. I could care less about the camera/kinect thing. I completely disagree on entertainment as I have a TV for that. The only thing I agree with is the games. There aren't that many games out as promised for the PS4.

    Other than that the PS4 is better. Games will come out for it especially now that they are off the cell architecture and on a standard x86 architecture that everyone knows. You'll see games flooding in.
  • -1 Hide
    jryder , December 5, 2013 11:15 AM
    I agree. The two systems are very close in terms of power, but the Xbox One offers minority report like Kinnect 2.0 with voice commands and Cable integration. The small difference in GPU power is basically irrelevant to me. No console can compete with a modern PC in terms of graphics power. Arguing about which console is slightly more powerful is like arguing about who is the smallest dwarf.
  • 6 Hide
    scottinks , December 5, 2013 11:19 AM
    This is one of the worst comparison article I've seen in a long time.
  • 5 Hide
    Brian Ghattas , December 5, 2013 11:19 AM
    How much is Microsoft paying you for this example of propaganda, Sherri?
  • 3 Hide
    kiniku , December 5, 2013 1:02 PM
    Two great new consoles that cater to different folks. For those that don't already have smarter TV's the One is a great choice. For those that have all that elsewhere, TV or receiver and want more of a gaming focused product the PS4 is a great option.

    I find it interesting the change of direction of both Microsoft and Sony. The 360 a more x86 design and also a low cost to entry device that sold add ons where the PS4 was a more the complete definitive home media device with its introduction of Blue Ray media and its streaming capabilities. Now they go off in opposite directions. Was there possibly collaboration between the two? Who knows.

    But as it stands now they both designed distinctively different consoles that will cater to the different needs of consumers. A win for everyone.
  • -4 Hide
    Matt Vandermolen , December 5, 2013 1:04 PM
    something something butthurt PS fanboys.
  • 2 Hide
    honsonic , December 5, 2013 1:10 PM
    toms hardware as a regular reader to your webpage I am greatly disappointed in this article, you have inaccurate information to favor the xbox one. performance wise on paper ps4 beats the xbox one and by far the plus account is way better than live (the benefits are clear, compile the list of benefits and see for yourself). as a gamer i don't a crap with the kinect. i will buy a console primary for my gaming. guys just go to reddit, tomshardware have being bought by MS
  • -2 Hide
    honsonic , December 5, 2013 1:18 PM
    toms hardware as a regular reader to your webpage I am greatly disappointed in this article, you have inaccurate information to favor the xbox one. performance wise on paper ps4 beats the xbox one and by far the plus account is way better than live (the benefits are clear, compile the list of benefits and see for yourself). as a gamer i don't a crap with the kinect. i will buy a console primary for my gaming. guys just go to reddit, tomshardware have being bought by MS
  • 8 Hide
    stevo777 , December 5, 2013 1:34 PM
    "In terms of memory, each system has 8GB of RAM. However, the PS4 is loaded with more advanced GDDR5 RAM--which is better for driving graphics performance-- while the One has DDR5."

    DDR3, not DDR5.
  • 1 Hide
    jeffjwatts , December 5, 2013 1:47 PM
    I found this a good article. I like how you clearly differentiated the various categories and clearly spelled out your reasoning, so a user can decide if something is important to them.

    Several posters have argued the the PS4 is more powerful, but all of the detailed analysis I've read so far has indicated the differences are trivial. You have to have a zoomed in screen shot to even see the results. Almost, all viewers have said that both systems are graphically similar with the current crop of games at normal TV viewing distances.

    But, nonetheless, the graphical difference and the current paltry selection of available games is what's holding me back from choosing. I'm leaning toward the XBox One, but if the new Gen games are consistently rated better on the PS4, I'll probably go with it instead.
  • 2 Hide
    Stung 47000 , December 5, 2013 2:00 PM
    Well though out article, thanks for the read. I have the feeling most of these haters skipped straight to pg. 14 and then started bitching because their choice was behind by 2 points.
  • -2 Hide
    honsonic , December 5, 2013 2:31 PM
    before the fanboy yell out. please be logical clearly the results on the table is inaccurate which means, either the author didn't do a well thought(researched, data crunching) article. I will say that this article is a lie, shame on journalism.
  • 4 Hide
    cc_moreau_cc , December 5, 2013 2:35 PM
    Though I find this article a little uneven in terms of reviewing both consoles, it gives a nice overview of what each console offers and what it's pros and cons are. However, will you people cut it out with the "console wars" crap. Also, one thing I noticed, the people that are mentioning the PS4's 8GB of GDDR5, is this your only argument? It seems that Playstation has reverted to "Resolution, Graphics, Resolution, Graphics..." and it goes on and on. These consoles have more to them than playing video games and making them look great. Look past that, and you'll look at both consoles in an equal light and choose which one is truly best for you. END.OF.STORY.
  • -5 Hide
    chris Zepeda , December 5, 2013 3:21 PM
    All you sony fanboys are pathetic. The xbox one is a better console obviously and the PS4 is NOT 50% more powerful. Don't believe the hype/lies. Every video on ign.com showing comparison acknowledge how identical they are and most say the best looking next gen games are on the X1 like Ryse and Forza. Xbox live is a way better experience and 1000x times more refined after 10 years of know how I trust xbox unlike Sony and the hack fiasco they had with the PSN. No thank you. Xbox for the win
  • 3 Hide
    deftonian , December 5, 2013 3:36 PM
    All these articles and comparisons are, is opinions. The only true thing that takes opinion out of the question are raw data facts and hardware. When articles start getting into accessories, programs, games, interface, etc, it's only talking about their opinion and how they prefer the interaction. Nobody should be upset about these articles, the only thing we learned here is that TomsGUIDE prefers the xbox one. No big deal, I prefer the PS4, but I'm not angry because I understand opinions play a big part in reviews these days. Take it with a grain of salt people.
  • -3 Hide
    recipes_chef , December 5, 2013 3:54 PM
    WTF there is a lot of free methods how you how to earn xboox one for free like this video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6me0nmkseBo

  • -2 Hide
    torka , December 5, 2013 4:57 PM
    GDDR5 may in fact be able to hold and output pretty pictures faster than DDR3... but when it comes to running the actual game and pushing that image data from the cpu cores to the gpu cores...

    With any kind of computer know how, anyone should be able to see that the Xbox is a superior machine.
Display more comments
React To This Article

Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter