Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Smartphone Security: iOS vs. Android

Smartphone Security: iOS vs. Android
By

Is your whole life on your smartphone? Don't put it at risk. Here's how to beef up security on your iPhone or Android phone. Is Apple ahead of Google?

The compact size of mobile phones and devices makes them easy to steal or lose. You don’t want some stranger checking out your personal text messages, photos, schedule, or accessing your online accounts like Facebook. If you use your smartphone for work, I bet your employer wouldn’t be happy if someone else was reading your documents, email, accessing the company Exchange or SharePoint servers, or connecting to the corporate Wi-Fi network.

In this article, we’ll discuss the security concerns you should have and how to protect your device and the privacy of your information. Plus we’ll cover specifics for Apple’s iOS (the iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) and Google’s Android platform.

Display all 21 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , February 3, 2011 8:38 PM
    Ooof. No device-level data encryption on Android?!? WTF, Google?!? Glad I didn't switch to Android. It might be good for kids playing Angry Birds, but forget about it in a business- or otherwise sensitive environment.
  • -1 Hide
    Trueno07 , February 3, 2011 10:01 PM
    You can play Angry Birds on the Iphone as well.


    I recommend you try it, it's a lot of fun.
  • 0 Hide
    house70 , February 4, 2011 1:27 PM
    More choice=better security. Plenty of apps for Android to choose from, not to mention that rooting your device actually allows for increased security, as opposed to iOS.
    So, even if there are more apps available for securing your Android, not to mention that you have completely forgotten to mention the data/apps backup applications available, the conclusion is still that Android is less secure than iOS.
    talk about unbiased conclusions...
    Review FAIL.
    Reviewer's credibility - gone.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 4, 2011 3:57 PM
    Angry birds? Nothing more important in your lfe? Sad! :-(
  • 0 Hide
    AGPC , February 4, 2011 4:30 PM
    Blackberry has the best Security and thats a fact!
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , February 4, 2011 5:22 PM
    AGPCBlackberry has the best Security and thats a fact!


    We're going to have similar coverage for BB OS and other smartphone platforms in the near future, so stay tuned!
  • -2 Hide
    speedemon , February 4, 2011 11:50 PM
    house70More choice=better security. Plenty of apps for Android to choose from, not to mention that rooting your device actually allows for increased security, as opposed to iOS.So, even if there are more apps available for securing your Android, not to mention that you have completely forgotten to mention the data/apps backup applications available, the conclusion is still that Android is less secure than iOS.talk about unbiased conclusions...Review FAIL. Reviewer's credibility - gone.


    Jailbreaking an Iphone will allow you to install a firewall, fake your location, and install various security apps.
    Did you need a tissue for all that crap? its all over your face bro
  • 0 Hide
    house70 , February 5, 2011 10:14 PM
    speedemonJailbreaking an Iphone will allow you to install a firewall, fake your location, and install various security apps.Did you need a tissue for all that crap? its all over your face bro

    The article mentioned that jailbreaking, as well as rooting, are not "recommended practices". The lack of even mentioning the backup apps available for Android makes the review a FAIL, just to begin with. I could add a whole lot of other rational arguments to prove that, but from your childish reply I gather that would be a waste of my time.
    Keeping it civilized is always a form of reflecting one's degree of maturity... and yours showed up. "Loose lips sink ships", and your ship just hit rock bottom.
  • 0 Hide
    AGPC , February 5, 2011 11:23 PM
    Oh no. FLAME WAR
  • 0 Hide
    AGPC , February 5, 2011 11:26 PM
    i dont have a contract and if i did i would get Andriod
  • 1 Hide
    cyclone44 , February 6, 2011 3:19 AM
    I only have one major problem with this review.. stating that open means less secure has no merit whatsoever. In reality, it's the closed OS that is at the disadvantage. Open development means peer review, lots of eyes on the code, so zero chance of intentional back doors and much quicker resolution of serious vulnerabilities. I am no fan of the Android development model either, but to throw a blanket over open source and claiming it is less secure is ridiculous. Look up Pwn2Own sometime.. those Black Hat guys LOVE cracking Apple machines, including the iPhone.
  • 0 Hide
    house70 , February 6, 2011 1:26 PM
    AGPCOh no. FLAME WAR

    no war. not worth it. I made my point clear and I'm done with it.
    For other arguments see cyclone44's comment. He's got a point, as well.
  • -1 Hide
    ap3x , February 6, 2011 3:21 PM
    house70More choice=better security. Plenty of apps for Android to choose from, not to mention that rooting your device actually allows for increased security, as opposed to iOS.So, even if there are more apps available for securing your Android, not to mention that you have completely forgotten to mention the data/apps backup applications available, the conclusion is still that Android is less secure than iOS.talk about unbiased conclusions...Review FAIL. Reviewer's credibility - gone.


    Dude, since when have you seen a single review on this site biased towards Apples favor. lol. More App and more choice availability does not mean more secure. It has nothing to do with security.
  • 1 Hide
    Flying-Q , February 7, 2011 8:57 AM
    dconnorsWe;re going to have similar coverage for BB OS and other smartphone platforms in the near future, so stay tuned!


    Sincerely hope you will be covering WP7
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , February 7, 2011 4:13 PM
    Flying-QSincerely hope you will be covering WP7


    We will.
    -Devin
  • 0 Hide
    mofnet , February 7, 2011 7:21 PM
    the problem is, with mass-adoption (which smart phones are moving towards very quickly....) comes mass-usage... and the average mass user will not download much additional content that will alter the OS's behaviour, yeah they will download games and stuff, but the average mass market user will accept the phones functionality as it ships and therefore these reviews have to look at the OS "out of the box"..

    yeah sure, the hard core user will be willing to look up the best apps to achieve the tasks they wish to perform and download them, but the mass market average user will not.... they will just download media consumption apps and games... so whatever platform you decide on, it MUST be as secure as possible OUT OF THE BOX!!!! period....
  • 0 Hide
    konjiki7 , February 8, 2011 3:07 PM
    house70More choice=better security. Plenty of apps for Android to choose from, not to mention that rooting your device actually allows for increased security, as opposed to iOS.So, even if there are more apps available for securing your Android, not to mention that you have completely forgotten to mention the data/apps backup applications available, the conclusion is still that Android is less secure than iOS.talk about unbiased conclusions...Review FAIL. Reviewer's credibility - gone.

    Your 100% correct as my D1 has multiple images of the entire sd card + os. I can go back in time or pull a specific file from an old image. It's all encrypted too!
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 8, 2011 9:28 PM
    Android phones 2.2 and higher can download a program called Task Identifier which will help you see into what your phone is doing. I love this app. Smartphones can be scary! taskidentifier.blogspot.com
  • 0 Hide
    robd007 , February 9, 2011 4:46 AM
    rofl...they act like jailbreaking the phone is a bad thing, when u gain access to even more security....
  • 0 Hide
    erhardm , February 10, 2011 3:35 PM
    mofnetthe problem is, with mass-adoption (which smart phones are moving towards very quickly....) comes mass-usage... and the average mass user will not download much additional content that will alter the OS's behaviour, yeah they will download games and stuff, but the average mass market user will accept the phones functionality as it ships and therefore these reviews have to look at the OS "out of the box"..yeah sure, the hard core user will be willing to look up the best apps to achieve the tasks they wish to perform and download them, but the mass market average user will not.... they will just download media consumption apps and games... so whatever platform you decide on, it MUST be as secure as possible OUT OF THE BOX!!!! period....

    +1
Display more comments
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter