According to TechCrunch (opens in new tab), WhatsApp users won’t be immediately locked out of the service, but will slowly begin to lose functionality. That’ll start with the inability to send or receive messages, and gradually get worse from there.
- These are the best WhatsApp alternatives you can try right now
- How to switch from WhatsApp to Signal
- Plus: Apple Car LiDAR sensor report just tipped release date
Users will still be able to receive calls and notifications, but only for a “limited time” after the May 15 deadline has passed. WhatsApp says that period will last a few weeks, but its policy (opens in new tab) on “inactive users” will apply after the initial deadline. That means any accounts that are inactive for more than 120 days will be deleted.
The terms suggested that WhatsApp would be sharing more data with parent company Facebook, which people did not like. Rumors then began to spread about how Facebook and WhatsApp would be able to access private conversations.
WhatsApp insisted that this was not the case, and that most users wouldn’t be affected by the change. The only new data being shared with Facebook relates to how users interact with businesses, so if they don’t interact with businesses then everything carries on as normal. The policy also makes existing data sharing more transparent, telling users exactly what’s being shared with Facebook and why.