Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Best Smartphones on the Market Now

Best Smartphones on the Market Now
By

There's no such thing as a future-proof smartphone, but the very best models will keep you very happy for years to come. You deserve a great right mix of speed, features, camera quality and battery life. To help you make the right call, we've selected the top smartphones available right now, whether you’re looking for a big-screen phablet, the most advanced camera, or a compact powerhouse.

Editors’ Note: Phones marked New and Notable have not yet been reviewed but look very promising based on our initial hands-ons. We will follow up with full reviews.

Samsung Galaxy S5 By Carrier: Verizon | AT&T | Sprint | T-Mobile

MORE: iPhone 6 Hands-On

MORE: Galaxy Note 4 Hands-On

Display all 14 comments.
  • -1 Hide
    lancelot123 , July 11, 2014 3:38 PM
    Not on this list, but I wouldn't trade my Moto X for any of these phones. Well, maybe I'd trade it, sell it, buy a new Moto X and pocket the extra cash, haha. I did quite a bit of research before buying it a few weeks ago. Had it narrowed down to a S5, Xperia Z1 Compact and the Moto X. I certainly made the right decision.
  • 0 Hide
    therealduckofdeath , July 13, 2014 6:32 AM
    Haha, OnePlus One "best value phone"... I guess you can call it that as you save a whole lot of money by not being able to spend any money on buying one.... :) 
  • 0 Hide
    Baraka Eliya , July 29, 2014 11:37 AM
    good that
  • -1 Hide
    Jillxz , August 15, 2014 11:10 AM
    I wouldn't trade my LG G2 for any of these.
  • 0 Hide
    wildkitten , September 5, 2014 1:06 PM
    Quote:
    Not on this list, but I wouldn't trade my Moto X for any of these phones. Well, maybe I'd trade it, sell it, buy a new Moto X and pocket the extra cash, haha. I did quite a bit of research before buying it a few weeks ago. Had it narrowed down to a S5, Xperia Z1 Compact and the Moto X. I certainly made the right decision.



    The first model Moto X wouldn't even be considered on this list because when it was released last year it was already behind on specs yet wasn't very cheap. Not sure how you think you could sell it, buy the new one for well over $400 and have money to leftover to pocket.
  • -1 Hide
    dovah-chan , September 6, 2014 10:07 PM
    HTC One M8 Android > WP Version; in my opinion. I got hands on with the windows 8.1 version the other week and cortana is pretty cute but it's not that integrated yet. They should iron out some flaws on it which mostly include just overall system utliization and optimization of it as it got a bit warmer when I played with it for an extended period of time.

    Still like my android M8 and not planning on switching.
  • 0 Hide
    Nuckles_56 , September 8, 2014 3:55 AM
    Quote:
    HTC One M8 Android > WP Version; in my opinion. I got hands on with the windows 8.1 version the other week and cortana is pretty cute but it's not that integrated yet. They should iron out some flaws on it which mostly include just overall system utliization and optimization of it as it got a bit warmer when I played with it for an extended period of time.

    Still like my android M8 and not planning on switching.

    Cortana is just like siri when she was first released, pretty buggy and useless at this point in time
  • -1 Hide
    Mark Cruz , September 9, 2014 5:47 AM
    I just love the features of HTC, I am looking forward to buy an amazing Smartphone with some unique features. I liked these ones also - http://bit.ly/1lJgP0p
  • 1 Hide
    Bryne , September 11, 2014 12:39 AM
    Iphone 6 Plus best camera phone??? That all thanks to an 'inspiring' Apple speech, a new marketing term like iSight and maybe a couple of minutes hands on. Amazing how you can then decide it is better than, let's say, a Lumia 1020 with a proven Pureview camera. Tom's Guide has fallen hard from an authority on hardware to a blabbering, non thinking scribbler on the web.
  • 1 Hide
    house70 , September 11, 2014 9:26 AM
    Quote:
    Iphone 6 Plus best camera phone??? That all thanks to an 'inspiring' Apple speech, a new marketing term like iSight and maybe a couple of minutes hands on. Amazing how you can then decide it is better than, let's say, a Lumia 1020 with a proven Pureview camera. Tom's Guide has fallen hard from an authority on hardware to a blabbering, non thinking scribbler on the web.


    Maybe the OP meant "best camera among iPhones". Otherwise I would not understand why a phone that's NOT on the market yet made it on the "Best Smartphones on the Market Now" list.
  • 0 Hide
    Drejeck , September 13, 2014 3:40 AM
    I just bought the M8 android, 128gb sd, BT keyb, UAG maverick cover
    well, i'm not a videomaker or photographer and i don't plan to swim and take selfies in water with it... i like quality material, performance and battery life. I was a Nokia fanboy when the world wasn't crazy about touchscreens
  • -1 Hide
    Hobojack , September 14, 2014 3:11 PM
    Sony Xperia are better than all the phones
  • 0 Hide
    Blueridge , September 15, 2014 6:24 AM
    I'm also not comfortable with the fact that a phone that was just launched, and has no proper review coverage, not to mention feedback from actual users, made it in this list.
    I knew Tom's was more thorough in its statements, that in the past, were formulated after extensive tests, not just marketing promises/terms and some very little reviewer hands-on experience.
  • 0 Hide
    Blueridge , September 15, 2014 6:24 AM
    I'm also not comfortable with the fact that a phone that was just launched, and has no proper review coverage, not to mention feedback from actual users, made it in this list.
    I knew Tom's was more thorough in its statements, that in the past, were formulated after extensive tests, not just marketing promises/terms and some very little reviewer hands-on experience.
React To This Article

Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter