grades
Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Acer Aspire One Review

Acer Aspire One Review
By

(To start the image gallery for the Aspire One, click on an image.)

Acer brings color to its netbook range. Alongside the "Sapphire Blue" of our model, the Aspire One is also available in "Seashell White," "Golden Brown" and "Coral Pink." Female buyers will most likely favor the latter, especially since the Aspire One is small enough to fit into just about any handbag.

Watch a video tour of the Acer Aspire One.

The design is attractive and fresh. The version we have here has a bottom shell in matt black plastic. The display surround is in a shiny black plastic. The lid and interior, on the other hand, are blue. The result is chic with a high-quality look. The metallic tone gives the impression that the casing is metal. But in actual fact, the palm rest is made of colored plastic.

Unfortunately the highly polished surfaces immediately reveal every single fingerprint. After a short time, both the lid and the palm rest became covered with many fingerprint smudges that needed to be wiped off.

Acer also brings a little color to the sides as well. The hinge fixtures have orange-colored rings with a small silver circle inside. The WLAN slide switch and the associated control lamps are located on the front right-hand side of the case edge. To the left above the keyboard are the LEDs for power and battery status, as well as CAPS and NUM locks status. The On button is in a small depression on the right-hand side and lights up green when the machine is in operation.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Streaming Video & TVs forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 13 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    coldmast , September 5, 2008 7:49 PM
    no mention of the hard drive version
    the 120GB 2.5" HDD versions are the ones to get (if you want one) and only the hard drive version will run XP nicely.

    the SSDs suck on these things and are only good for running linpus linux

    right now I can go to the my local store and pick one up for $409 CAD which is great because most of the comparable netbooks are $100 to $200 more expensive
  • 0 Hide
    coldmast , September 5, 2008 7:50 PM
    that would be the 6cell battery, XP, 1GB RAM, 120GB HDD
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 5, 2008 11:19 PM
    agree. using it right now
  • 0 Hide
    apaige , September 6, 2008 10:08 AM
    "The installed Linpus Linux does not support RPMs."
    Yes it does.
  • 1 Hide
    misiu_mp , September 9, 2008 9:31 AM
    The author of this article is completely incompetent. The Linpus system is fully customizable and extendable. It features standard xfce desktop and yum package manager (which DOES handle rpm's). Access to these is described here:
    http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=28.
    The system interface that comes out of the box is designed to make it easy for people with no computer experience at all, but it is easily unlocked to get a pretty standard red-hat based system.
  • 0 Hide
    misiu_mp , September 9, 2008 9:47 AM
    As to the hdd-version I would never consider one because of the reliability. Hdd's is the main cause of failures in laptops (maybe except for spilling liquid on them). They are the only component sensitive to the slightest shock. Having an hdd in a small, mobile laptop like that defies its purpose. You will probably carry it around alot - not at all as a normal laptop, actually more like a bigger pda - then its easy for an accident.
    With a solid state drive (ssd), even if you drop it to the ground the data on the drive is safe.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 13, 2008 1:54 PM
    "Unfortunately, however, it falls over backwards if the display is opened more than 90°."

    The images in the gallery appear to contradict this statement.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 16, 2008 4:33 AM
    "Unfortunately, however, it falls over backwards if the display is opened more than 90°."

    Unless you always sit like a Mayan Chac-Mool or like you where driving an italian car (with your knees up)
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , October 20, 2008 5:37 PM
    Does anyone know if the XP version has dual monitor capability. I called Acer Tech Support to ask and all they could tell me is "no, it only has one VGA port".
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , November 6, 2008 3:12 PM
    Yes, the XP version supports dual monitors, at least mine does. I have the 160GB XP Home version (A0A 150 - 1283) and connected an external 19" display with 1280 x 1024 resolution. Going into the graphic properties (only after connecting the second monitor) allowed me to set the extended desktop onto the external monitor at it's full 1280 x 1024 resolution. I was then able to move the mouse back and forth between the displays if I used the top half of the external display.

    My biggest complaint is with the keyboard. I generally like the layout and feel of the keys but since I live in Canada we get stuck with the Multilingual keyboard which halves the left shift key to make room for a special accent key and also changes the return key to make it smaller and put some extra keys beside it.

    I can get a US keyboard on eBay for $55 plus shipping and may do this as this one is driving me crazy.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , November 8, 2008 12:32 PM
    I replaced my desktop with a 17" laptop, but it's a beast to lug around. Instead of flash drive, I bought the hard drive version of the Aspire One with Windows XP, along with a 160 GB HDD, 1 GB ram and 6 cell battery that fits in my purse for only $350? Such a deal!
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , November 11, 2008 4:50 PM
    I bought an Acer Aspire One (AAO) this fall and within weeks the screen blacked out upon booting. Rather than replacing my AAO , Acer referred me to a technical repair depot. After 6 weeks still no word - then two weeks ago after calling Acer they said they would send me a new one on “back-order” - still no sight of it. Today when i called they said they have no idea when the “back-order” will be filled. Just wonderful customer support - not! Wish i had bought a MacBook now…..
  • 1 Hide
    Speaker , December 12, 2008 4:21 PM
    I bought an Acer Aspire One 12/2008 and downloaded the updated Mobile Intel 945 chipset. It will not talk to a remote Dell monitor nor will it talk to an Acer PD311 projector. I called tech support because it clearly has a 15-pin D-sub connector on the side and, after an hour waiting for Level 2 support, a technician told me it did not support two monitors and I could toggle between them using Fn+F5. That does not work. The remote monitor displays an Acer screen but no icons and does not show anything opened on the laptop screen, nor does it show movement of mouse, etc. This is similar to a problem I used to have with an Dell Inspiron 60000 (Windows XP) that Dell eventually fixed with some driver downloads. The little Acer Aspire One is cute but it is useless for road warrior work (I'm a public speaker) if one cannot even toggle between displays. By the way, while Acer was courteous, it did not recognize its own serial numbers and claimed they were invalid. I had to go through painful phone registration. I am taking the computer back to Costco as it has no real value if it can't talk to a larger monitor. It's a cute idea - too bad it's not ready for prime time.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter
  • add to twitter
  • add to facebook
  • ajouter un flux RSS