Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

First Preview: Internet Explorer 9

First Preview: Internet Explorer 9
By
Better, Faster, Stronger?


Despite the rumors, Microsoft didn’t show off a public technical preview of Internet Explorer 9 this week, but it did show off a new test version of the new browser. The test version of IE 9 was shown at Microsoft’s professional developer conference yesterday and Tom’s Guide had a hands-on demonstration of the same features from Dean Hachamovitch, general manager of the Internet Explorer team.

There are no new features in this test version, just improvements to the rendering engine. To show that it’s a test version rather than a full new browser, the icon is a greyed-out version of the familiar IE logo.

See more See less
Display 12 Comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    zerapio , November 19, 2009 11:11 PM
    Neat! Most of the improvements look like they could be ported to other browsers. The crisper font rendering and rounded boxes look sweet.
  • 2 Hide
    7amood , November 20, 2009 12:45 AM
    Chrome made my life a lot easier... no crashing, simple interface and lots of eye candy functions... am not going back even if it's faster than chrome.
    am sure Firefox users won't either.
  • 0 Hide
    acecombat , November 20, 2009 1:02 AM
    Tom'sTo show that it’s a test version rather than a full new browser, the icon is a greyed-out version of the familiar IE logo

    And here I was just thinking IE felt a little gloomy and down today...
  • 2 Hide
    IzzyCraft , November 20, 2009 1:04 AM
    Hum did i not see something HTML5 support :(  DXVA and text smoothing is quite nice but skipping html5 is not allowed! down with Adobe's Flash that horrible little thing that is practically 99% used for annoying ads
  • 3 Hide
    acecombat , November 20, 2009 1:22 AM
    IzzyCraftHum did i not see something HTML5 support DXVA and text smoothing is quite nice but skipping html5 is not allowed! down with Adobe's Flash that horrible little thing that is practically 99% used for annoying ads

    And you think HTML5 won't be used for the same thing???
  • 1 Hide
    IzzyCraft , November 20, 2009 1:39 AM
    :) 
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , November 20, 2009 6:15 PM
    Be that as it may HTML5 might actually bring some good with it, without being an unreasonable drain on available hardware resources.
  • 3 Hide
    nerdherd , November 20, 2009 8:42 PM
    Haha, so speed-wise instead of being in fourth place by a long shot, they will be in fourth place just by a little bit :)  That's funny.
  • 0 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , November 20, 2009 9:16 PM
    Well, I hope the smoother font might be something that I can look forward to.
  • 0 Hide
    mitch074 , November 26, 2009 3:08 PM
    Firefox developers have started applying the same rendering techniques for 3.7 (experimental builds are available), simply by adding a Direct2D Cairo backend (thus, all Cairo-based browsers may use it sooner or later), and they are now debugging it (it's functionally complete).

    Firefox 3.7 (Minefield) already gets 96/100 on Acid3 (with html5 and SMIL activated), and has no more graphical glitches (some other browsers get higher scores, but don't match the reference rendering yet). This won't be backported to 3.6, which is already too advanced for such a patch.

    Other platforms won't see the technology, because it's MS-only (but they have other equivalent technologies available).

    A project to 'bottle' Firefox tabs has started too; for now, it's only the equivalent of spawning several Firefox processes in a single UI, but the goal is to dissociate the rendering threads, network stacks and UI process from each others.

    What I'd really enjoy from IE 9: DOM 2 and SVG support.
  • 0 Hide
    MrFawlty , November 27, 2009 12:18 AM
    Still will be a long way from standards-compliant so my sites will be just as hard to develop! :( 
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , December 18, 2009 11:28 AM
    I don't believe there's such a thing as IE9 any more.
    This demo is nothing but a bunch of pictures than anyone could throw together using PowerPoint.
    Now if they would have made a download of the IE9 beta available to developers, like they promised, that would have been something. But they never did.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter