Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Creative Sound Blaster Wireless WoW Headset

Creative Sound Blaster Wireless WoW Headset
By

Wireless headsets are rarely on a gamer's radar. Creative thinks its new World of Warcraft Wireless Headset can change how gamers view cordless audio.

Wireless headsets have been around for years, but rarely do they appeal to the hardcore PC gaming crowd. If you take a look at almost any PC gamer's rig, including my own, you’ll find a headset, for sure, but it is most-likely a wired version from a company like Razer, SteelSeries, Astro or any of the dozens of manufacturers who occupy the marketplace.

This includes Creative Labs, which has long crafted headsets just for the gamer crowd. The Fatal1ty line has made a name for itself over the last year or two (the MK. II earned praise from me just a few months ago), and since Creative and its Sound Blaster brand are nearly synonymous with sound cards, the company is in a position to market gaming headsets to the same crowd that is buying it’s PC hardware.

So, what do wireless headsets and Creative Labs have in common? A brand new headset designed for the PC gaming crowd--specifically the 12 million-plus World of Warcraft players around the world. The World of Warcraft Wireless Headset is looking to change the way gamers think about wireless headsets. Tom's Guide tested a review unit fresh off the production line.

As of now, the few gaming-oriented wireless headsets are mediocre at best, and are often overlooked because the need simply isn’t there. If you are a big enough PC gamer that you’re looking into gaming-specific periphery, then you probably have a mid-tower case sitting on or below your desk, and you have plenty of room for a wired mouse, keyboard and headset. That said, let’s see what kind of argument the WoW headset makes for wireless.

Display all 40 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    liquid0h , February 11, 2010 1:06 AM
    While I'm sure the sound quality is right on cue as you said Devin, I can't agree with the looks. That one LED WoW symbol on the side looks like something out of Disney: The Lion King. Maybe if they came out with a non WoW version without all the flashy gimmicks and stuff...
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , February 11, 2010 2:55 AM
    liquid0hWhile I'm sure the sound quality is right on cue as you said Devin, I can't agree with the looks. That one LED WoW symbol on the side looks like something out of Disney: The Lion King. Maybe if they came out with a non WoW version without all the flashy gimmicks and stuff...


    http://www.jinx.com/Content/Product/789p_99c_1b.jpg

    Creative didn't make the symbol, it is from World of Warcraft.

    -Devin
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 11, 2010 3:09 AM
    When will people learn. Gaming headsets are pure CRAP. I have tested several from plantronics to Razer. All garbage. If you care about gaming, you will know ATH-AD700 and Beyerdynamic DT880 are some of, if not the BEST headphones for gaming. Simple mods can make them into a headset too. Much better soundstage, clarity and have pinpoint accuracy.
  • 3 Hide
    lightningjack , February 11, 2010 4:58 AM
    I could really use a wireless gaming headset. But as much as I love WoW, I'm also an adult who doesn't want hieroglyphics or massive lights on my headset (or any gear for that matter). Will this WoW headset appeal to 12 year olds? Absolutely. They'll go nuts for it. But Creative has definitely made design decisions that seemingly alienate the vast majoirty of mature gamers gamers who actually have the type of disposable income to spend on this headset.

    This is a classic case of a company simply trying so hard to be relevant only to end up completely missing the mark. And it's really too bad because this headset seems reasonably full-featured otherwise. I will wait for Razer or Logitech to release a similarly spec'ed headset with a more sophisticated design.

    Devin, I know the Logitech wireless headset uses 2.4GHz tech (and I believe the Plantronics one does too). So this tech is definitely not new, albeit neither are "gaming" headsets. I've actually been using the Logitech wireless headset for over a year and I absolutely love it.
  • 0 Hide
    rbarone69 , February 11, 2010 5:27 AM
    You know... It would be really nice for a headset to have 2 audio channels (2 sound card driver interfaces). This way Vent/TS could be directed to one, and the game to the other... For gamers this would solve many problems of "I want to hear my game when nobody is talking".
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , February 11, 2010 8:37 AM
    lightningjackI could really use a wireless gaming headset. But as much as I love WoW, I'm also an adult who doesn't want hieroglyphics or massive lights on my headset (or any gear for that matter). Will this WoW headset appeal to 12 year olds? Absolutely. They'll go nuts for it. But Creative has definitely made design decisions that seemingly alienate the vast majoirty of mature gamers gamers who actually have the type of disposable income to spend on this headset.This is a classic case of a company simply trying so hard to be relevant only to end up completely missing the mark. And it's really too bad because this headset seems reasonably full-featured otherwise. I will wait for Razer or Logitech to release a similarly spec'ed headset with a more sophisticated design.Devin, I know the Logitech wireless headset uses 2.4GHz tech (and I believe the Plantronics one does too). So this tech is definitely not new, albeit neither are "gaming" headsets. I've actually been using the Logitech wireless headset for over a year and I absolutely love it.


    2.4 GHz is new to the gaming segment, for sure. Also, and perhaps I should have specified this in the article...you can turn the LED lighting off if you so desire.

    -Devin
  • 0 Hide
    zanraptora , February 11, 2010 12:05 PM
    I actually need to check... But I think I actually have an 2.4GHz headphones from Sentry... Ill check when I get home
  • 0 Hide
    Teruo , February 11, 2010 2:09 PM
    There are 2.4 GHz Digital Wireless Headphone
    I have been using Creative HS1200 Gaming Headset for almost 2 years and basically, this new one have the exact same specs as HS1200. But even though im using the HS1200 i still want a MMO-Themed headset =D
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , February 11, 2010 2:43 PM
    I can already picture someone rage-stomping that voice tap.
  • 1 Hide
    kooltime , February 11, 2010 4:25 PM
    $160.00 ?? geez in todays bad economy, over charging for new toys, with less sales is why everything is in the tank now adays.

    probly charge ya 100 bucks extra for that pedal thing and 50 bucks for the extra avatar LED styles each bah rip off for the pricing, when we all know it cvan be made to work just as it is now for less then $40.00 R&D

    Only thing left really free anymore is
    "free dirt" adds on craigslist - you pick it up - lol
  • -1 Hide
    niz , February 11, 2010 6:36 PM
    2.4Ghz is a BAD thing.
    the trouble with 2.4ghz is that it is already massively overused. I already have 2.4ghz headphones and when they're on, both my wifi connection and my mediacenter remote stop working. I also often get sound dropouts in my headphones, apparently when my microwave is on and when my neighbor is using his wifi.
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , February 11, 2010 7:42 PM
    niz2.4Ghz is a BAD thing.the trouble with 2.4ghz is that it is already massively overused. I already have 2.4ghz headphones and when they're on, both my wifi connection and my mediacenter remote stop working. I also often get sound dropouts in my headphones, apparently when my microwave is on and when my neighbor is using his wifi.


    Honestly I think it varies form product to product. I have a lot of the same products that you just listed (or something similar), and I didn't have any drop issues with audio.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 11, 2010 8:26 PM
    It looks promising. I wasn't thinking of getting a wireless headset but it's nice to know one is out there with good sound. My wife would probably punish me if I got them though... so I'll have have to stick to my $20 plantronics headset. It's the best headset I've used by far, I've gone through 3 of them though due to children breaking them :-\
  • -2 Hide
    seth89 , February 11, 2010 8:36 PM
    Man the WoW computer accessories are hot. they also have a keyboard and a mouse.
    i think it would be sweet if they had a video card too with that same style of armor.

    (this is coming from a person who hates wow)

    sweet review
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , February 11, 2010 9:26 PM
    I've been using the Logitech Clearchat wireless headphones for some time now and have been very pleased with them. They are 2.4ghz as well and use a similar USB receiver. They sound great and they are worth the extra cost of the non-wireless version. Also of note is they are a lot less expensive this WOW themed Creative headset. I'm a big gamer (World of Warcraft included) but at my age..the theming on these would be a bit much.
  • 0 Hide
    dconnors , February 11, 2010 9:54 PM
    seth89Man the WoW computer accessories are hot. they also have a keyboard and a mouse.i think it would be sweet if they had a video card too with that same style of armor.(this is coming from a person who hates wow)sweet review


    Thanks, Seth!

    For the record, I am not a fan of WoW, either. I am a huge PC gamer, but the FPS and RTS genres are where I spend most of my time. LED lighting aside, this is a great headset for any sort of PC gaming.
  • 1 Hide
    liquid0h , February 12, 2010 12:10 AM
    dconnorshttp://www.jinx.com/Content/Product/789p_99c_1b.jpgCreative didn't make the symbol, it is from World of Warcraft.-Devin

    Ah, I see now.

    While you may be right that Creative didn't create the symbol...they did however agree to put it on their product, you know?

    Btw good review.
  • 1 Hide
    midnightgun , February 12, 2010 3:01 AM
    Ok.. I'm an avid WoW player... (10 80's)..

    And even I think $120-160 for headphones is retarded.
  • 2 Hide
    memeroot , February 12, 2010 10:25 AM
    expensive can's are well worth the cash but the money should go into what you hear.
  • 0 Hide
    vohnvest , February 12, 2010 6:06 PM
    where do i buy this? i want it, i hate cables.
Display more comments
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter