F1 Bahrain Grand Prix live stream 2024 — how to watch full race and highlights, results

ax Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the Red Bull Racing F1 car leads Charles Leclerc and the rest of the field at the start during the F1 Bahrain Grand Prix at Bahrain International Circuit
(Image credit: Lars Baron/Getty Images)

A little over three months since Max Verstappen concluded the last Formula 1 season on top of the Drivers' Championship, the teams were back for another 24 high-octane races — and it all started with 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix live streams.

With the race now completed, we won't tell you here who won just in case you're still catching up. But if you do want to know the full results, then you can scroll down to the towards the bottom of this page to find out.

Or to discover how to watch Bahrain Grand Prix highlight and full race streams from anywhere with a VPN — and potentially for FREE — keep reading this article..

When is the 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix?

The 2024 Bahrain GP took place on Saturday, March 2 at 10 a.m. ET / 3 p.m. GMT. That's 6 p.m. local time at the Bahrain International Circuit.

It is one of only three races this season where the Grand Prix is held on a Saturday.

How to watch Bahrain Grand Prix 2024 on TV

The 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix was shown live and in full on ESPN channels in the U.S. That included all the F1 race weekend practice sessions and qualifying, as well as the race itself.

In the U.K., F1 broadcasting rights belong to Sky TV. Fox Sports is the F1 rights holder in Australia. We have full information on watching F1 on TV here.

Bahrain Grand Prix FREE highlights

Not long after the completion of each Grand Prix, the official Formula 1 YouTube channel puts a 5-10 minute highlight package out of the race.

You can find the free Bahrain Grad Prix highlights right here.

Alternatively, the U.K.'s free to watch Channel 4 streaming service hosts an extended highlights program of two hours. To watch that coverage outside of the U.K., you'll need need to use a good VPN — full details below.

Bahrain Grand Prix full race replay

Below you'll find the international broadcasters that show F1 live streams as the race happens. And the great news is that some of them show a full replay after the Grand Prix is complete:

Surfshark | 2 FREE months | from $2.29/pm

<a href="https://get.surfshark.net/aff_c?offer_id=1030&source=F1-Bahrain&aff_id=1691&aff_click_id=hawk-custom-tracking&aff_sub2=hawk-article-url" data-link-merchant="get.surfshark.net"" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">Surfshark | 2 FREE months | from $2.29/pm
A very reasonably priced VPN, <a href="https://www.techradar.com/reviews/surfshark" data-link-merchant="techradar.com"" data-link-merchant="get.surfshark.net"">Surfshark is one of the very best in our reviews. It's the fastest VPN we've ever tested, has excellent security features, and can unblock just about any streaming service you can imagine, making it an ideal companion for the 2024 F1 season.

Bahrain Grand Prix schedule 2024

The 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix schedule is as follows:

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Header Cell - Column 0 U.K. (GMT)U.S. (ET / PT)Australia (AEDT)
Practice 111:30 a.m.6:30 a.m. / 3:30 a.m.10:30 p.m.
Practice 23 p.m.10 a.m. / 7 a.m.2 a.m. (Fri)
Practice 312:30 p.m.7:30 a.m. / 4:30 a.m.11:30 p.m.
Qualifying4 p.m.11 a.m. / 8 a.m.3 a.m. (Sat)
Grand Prix3 p.m.10 a.m. / 7 a.m.2 a.m. (Sun)

What time is the Bahrain Grand Prix worldwide?

Lights out for the start of the 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix is set for 6 p.m. local time in Bahrain on Saturday, March 2. Here are the 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix start times in Europe, India, South Africa and other worldwide locations:

  • 7 a.m. PST – Pacific Standard Time
  • 8 a.m. MST – Mountain Standard Time
  • 9 a.m. CST – Central Standard Time
  • 10 a.m. EST – Mexico City, Mexico
  • 10 a.m. EST – Eastern Standard Time
  • 12 p.m. BRT – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • 3 p.m. GMT – United Kingdom
  • 4 p.m. CET – Central Europe
  • 5 p.m. SAST – South Africa
  • 7 p.m. GST – Dubai, UAE
  • 8:30 p.m. IST – New Delhi, India 
  • 10 p.m. WIB – Jakarta, Indonesia
  • 11 p.m. CST – Beijing, China
  • 2 a.m. AEDT – Australia (Sun, Mar. 3)
  • 4 a.m. NZDT – New Zealand (Sun, Mar. 3)

Bahrain Grand Prix circuit

Bahrain International Circuit map

(Image credit: By Will Pittenger - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=8975255)

The 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix takes place over 57 laps of the 5.412-kilometre Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir.

The Bahrain Grand Prix has been the curtain raiser for the Formula 1 season since 2021, and was the very first Grand Prix in the Middle East when it was first hosted there in 2004.

Having been specially designed and constructed in comparatively recent years, the circuit has the benefit of four lengthy straights that give a great opportunity for overtaking.

The Bahrain Grand Prix is held under floodlights, starting at 6 p.m. local time. And another challenge for the drivers to contend with is the temperature — conditions can vary wildly in the desert location of Sakhir, giving the constructors some real headaches when they come to optimize their car set-ups.

Bahrain Grand Prix FAQ

So, that's how to watch the Bahrain Grand Prix and all the race timings sorted. Now here's an F1 Bahrain FAQ for everything else you want to know about the upcoming race.

What are the odds and predictions for the 2024 Bahrain GP?

Max Verstappen is odds-on favorite to make a successful start to his championship defence, with Bet365 putting him at 1/3 to win (ahead of qualifying).

Fellow previous winners Charles Leclerc and Lewis Hamilton are priced next at 10/1 and 12/1 respectively.

What will the weather be like at the 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix?

If there's one thing that can be pretty much guaranteed with a season opener in Bahrain, it's dry weather. That said, it's looking like a cloudy few days in Sakhir, with mild evening temperatures in the mid-60s.

When is the next race?

The 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix follows the Bahrain GP one week afterwards. The race date is Saturday, March 9.

Who won the 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix?

Red Bull's Max Verstappen won the 2023 Bahrain GP, finishing with a time of 1:33:56.736.

The opening race of the 2023 season, reigning champion Verstappen took pole position and more or less led the whole way around the 57 laps.

What is the lap record at Bahrain Grand Prix?

Spanish driver Pedro de la Rosa set the fastest lap time at the Bahrain International Circuit in 2005. Driving in the McLaren, he posted a time of 1:31.447.

Bahrain Grand Prix winners

British driver Lewis Hamilton holds the record for most Bahrain Grand Prix wins with five. Winning his first two in 2014 and 2015, he then won three successive races between 2019 and 2021.

Sebastian Vettel has four victories and Fernando Alonso three, including the only time the Bahrain Grand Prix was held in its 'Endurance Circuit' configuration in 2010.

German F1 legend Michael Schumacher was the first winner back in 2004, with Max Verstappen topping the podium last year.

Bahrain Grand Prix 2024 results

  1. Max Verstappen Red Bull
  2. Sergio Pérez Red Bull
  3. Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari
  4. Charles Leclerc Ferrari
  5. George Russell Mercedes
  6. Lando Norris McLaren
  7. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
  8. Oscar Piastri McLaren
  9. Fernando Alonso Aston Martin
  10. Lance Stroll Aston Martin
  11. Zhou Guanyu Kick Sauber-Ferrari
  12. Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari
  13. Daniel Ricciardo RB-Honda
  14. Yuki Tsunoda RB-Honda
  15. Alexander Albon Williams-Mercedes
  16. Nico Hülkenberg Haas-Ferrari
  17. Esteban Ocon Alpine-Renault
  18. Pierre Gasly Alpine-Renault
  19. Valtteri Bottas Kick Sauber-Ferrari
  20. Logan Sargeant Williams-Mercedes

More from Tom's Guide

VPN statement

(Image credit: Future)

Bahrain Grand Prix full race and highlights

Contributor

Adam was the Content Director of Subscriptions and Services at Future, meaning that he oversaw many of the articles the publisher produces about antivirus software, VPN, TV streaming, broadband and mobile phone contracts - from buying guides and deals news, to industry interest pieces and reviews. Adam can still be seen dusting his keyboard off to write articles for the likes of TechRadar, T3 and Tom's Guide, having started his career at consumer champions Which?.