F1 Australian Grand Prix live stream 2024 — how to watch full race and highlights, results

Max Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the (1) Oracle Red Bull Racing RB19 on track during qualifying ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Australia at Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit on April 01, 2023 in Melbourne, Australia.
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Max Verstappen had again qualified on pole position for the Australian Grand Prix in his pace-setting Red Bull, the third time the Dutchman had been at the front of the grid in three races of the 2024 F1 season. 

Carlos Sainz in the Ferrari had set good pace behind Verstappen to qualify on the front row of the grid after returning from appendicitis and had set the fastest time in practice. Could the Spaniard come close to matching Verstappen and Red Bull?

It was a cracking race, full of incident intrigue and even a small fire, so you'll be wanting to catch up with all the action if you missed it live. 

If you still don't know but are wanting to catch up with the action, we won't spoil the results for you here. Instead, we've put the full race results at the very bottom of this page. Before that there are links to highlights and full race reviews to check out all the action from Albert Park.

We'll explain in this article how to watch Australian Grand Prix live streams from anywhere with a VPN — and potentially for FREE — as well as share all the information on the weekend schedule, global start times, race circuit and more.

When is the 2024 Australian Grand Prix?

The 2024 Australian GP takes place on Sunday, March 24 at 12 a.m. ET / 4 a.m. GMT. That's 3 p.m. local time in Melbourne, Australia.

Note that on the West Coast of the U.S., the 2024 race starts on Saturday, March 23 at 9 p.m. PT.

How to watch Australian Grand Prix 2024 on TV

The 2024 Australian Grand Prix was shown live and in full on ESPN in the U.S. That included all the F1 race weekend practice sessions and qualifying, as well as the race itself.

In the U.K., F1 broadcasting rights belong to Sky TV. Fox Sports is the F1 rights holder in Australia, but the home Grand Prix will also be shown for FREE on Network 10 and the 10Play streaming service. We have full information on watching F1 on TV here.

Australia Grand Prix FREE highlights

Not long after the completion of each Grand Prix, the official Formula 1 YouTube channel puts a 5-10 minute highlight package out of the race.

You can find the free Australian Grand Prix highlights right here.

Alternatively, the U.K.'s free to watch Channel 4 streaming service hosts an extended highlights program of two hours. To watch that coverage outside of the U.K., you'll need need to use a good VPN — full details below.

Australian Grand Prix full race replays

Below you'll find the international broadcasters that show F1 live streams as the race happens. And the great news is that some of them show a full replay after the Grand Prix is complete:

Surfshark | 2 FREE months | from $2.29/pm

<a href="https://get.surfshark.net/aff_c?offer_id=1030&source=F1-Bahrain&aff_id=1691&aff_click_id=hawk-custom-tracking&aff_sub2=hawk-article-url" data-link-merchant="get.surfshark.net"" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">Surfshark | 2 FREE months | from $2.29/pm
A very reasonably priced VPN, <a href="https://www.techradar.com/reviews/surfshark" data-link-merchant="techradar.com"" data-link-merchant="get.surfshark.net"">Surfshark is one of the very best in our reviews. It's the fastest VPN we've ever tested, has excellent security features, and can unblock just about any streaming service you can imagine, making it an ideal companion for the 2024 F1 season.

Australian Grand Prix schedule 2024

The 2024 Australian Grand Prix schedule is as follows:

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Header Cell - Column 0 U.K. (GMT)U.S. (ET / PT)Australia (AEDT)
Practice 11:30 a.m.9:30 p.m. (Thu) / 6:30 p.m. (Thu)12:30 p.m.
Practice 25 a.m.1 a.m. / 10 p.m. (Thu)4 p.m.
Practice 31:30 a.m.9:30 p.m. (Fri) / 6:30 p.m. (Fri)12:30 p.m.
Qualifying5 a.m.1 a.m. / 10 p.m. (Fri)4 p.m.
Grand Prix4 a.m.12 a.m. / 9 p.m. (Sat)3 p.m.

What time is the Australia Grand Prix worldwide?

Lights out for the start of the 2024 Australian Grand Prix is set for 3 p.m. local time in Melbourne on Sunday, March 24. Here are the 2024 Australia Grand Prix start times in Europe, India, South Africa and other worldwide locations:

  • 9 p.m. PST – Pacific Standard Time (Sat, Mar. 23)
  • 10 p.m. MST – Mountain Standard Time (Sat, Mar. 23)
  • 11 p.m. CST – Central Standard Time (Sat, Mar. 23)
  • 12 a.m. EST – Mexico City, Mexico
  • 12 a.m. EST – Eastern Standard Time
  • 1 a.m. BRT – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • 4 a.m. GMT – United Kingdom
  • 5 a.m. CET – Central Europe
  • 6 a.m. SAST – South Africa
  • 8 a.m. GST – Dubai, UAE
  • 9:30 a.m. IST – New Delhi, India 
  • 11 a.m. WIB – Jakarta, Indonesia
  • 12 p.m. CST – Beijing, China
  • 3 p.m. AEDT – Australia
  • 5 p.m. NZDT – New Zealand

Australia Grand Prix circuit

Map of the Albert Park Circuit which is home to the Australian Grand Prix

(Image credit: By AEPA Racing - https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/archive/3/31/20210403204531%21Albert_Lake_Park_Street_Circuit_in_Melbourne%2C_Australia.svg, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=112596677)

The 2024 Australia Grand Prix takes place over 58 laps of the 5.278-kilometre Albert Park Circuit in Melbourne, Victoria.

Taking in the roads around Albert Park and its expansive lake, the Australian Grand Prix track is effectively one that you can drive around yourself if you're ever in Melbourne. But that temporary nature of the circuit (as opposed to a purpose-built circuit for motorsports alone) means that it can be quite inconsistent — all adding to the excitement of race days.

Drivers have a tendency to go at the track's forgiving corners at full pelt. That no doubt makes for thrilling racing, but also means that Sundays dominated by safety cars like in 2023 are no rare thing.

Australia Grand Prix FAQ

So, that's how to watch the Australian Grand Prix and all the race timings sorted. Now here's an F1 Australia FAQ for everything else you want to know about the upcoming race.

What were the 2024 Australia GP qualifying results?

Reigning champion Max Verstappen again took pole position for the third time this season, with a Q3 time of 1:15.915.

The red Ferrari of Carlos Sainz will start alongside him, McLaren's Lando Norris third and the other Ferrari of Charles Leclerc fourth.

Lewis Hamilton only qualified in 11th, his worst position at Albert Park for 14 years, after failing to post a time quick enough to put him into the top 10 shootout.

What is the starting grid for the 2024 Australia GP?


1 1 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT 1:15.915
2 55 Carlos Sainz FERRARI 1:16.185
3 4 Lando Norris MCLAREN MERCEDES 1:16.315
4 16 Charles Leclerc FERRARI 1:16.435
5 81 Oscar Piastri MCLAREN MERCEDES 1:16.572
6 11 Sergio Perez RED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT 1:16.274
7 63 George Russell MERCEDES 1:16.724
8 22 Yuki Tsunoda RB HONDA RBPT 1:16.788
9 18 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 1:17.072
10 14 Fernando Alonso ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 1:17.552
11 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 1:16.960
12 23 Alexander Albon WILLIAMS MERCEDES 1:17.167
13 77 Valtteri Bottas KICK SAUBER FERRARI 1:17.340
14 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 1:17.427
15 31 Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT 1:17.697
16 27 Nico Hulkenberg HAAS FERRARI 1:17.976
17 10 Pierre Gasly ALPINE RENAULT 1:17.982
18 3 Daniel Ricciardo RB HONDA RBPT 1:18.085
19 24 Zhou Guanyu KICK SAUBER FERRARI 1:18.188

Note - Perez penalised 3 grid places for impeding another driver during qualifying. Car #2 (Logan Sargeant, Williams) withdrawn.

What are the odds and predictions for the 2024 Australia GP?

Max Verstappen is the heaviest of favorites to pick up a third race victory out of three in 2024, with Bet365 putting him at 1/5 to win (ahead of qualifying).

Charles Leclerc of Ferrari and Verstappen's Red Bull team-mate are priced next priced at 6/1 and 14/1 respectively.

What will the weather be like at the 2024 Australian Grand Prix?

Sunday's race looks set to take place in glorious Melbourne sunshine at Albert Park. The good weather is expected to last all day, with almost no chance of rain. Temperatures will be a very pleasant 73F / 23C.

When is the next race?

The 2024 Japan GP follows the Australia GP. There's another two-week gap between race weekends, with the next Grand Prix taking place in Suzuka on Sunday, April 7.

Who won the 2023 Australia Grand Prix?

Red Bull's Max Verstappen won the 2023 Australian GP, finishing with a time of 2:32:38.371.

It was an elongated race due to multiple incidents that saw three red flags and frequent intervention from the safety car.

Verstappen's eventual winning margin was just 0.179 seconds from Lewis Hamilton, with Fernando Alonso third and the Spaniard's Aston Martin teammate Lance Stroll in fourth.

What is the lap record at Australia Grand Prix?

Sergio Perez rewrote the record books at last year's 2023 Australia Grand Prix when the Mexican set a new Albert Park lap record of 1:20.235 in his Red Bull.

Australia Grand Prix winners

The legendary Melbourne-born driver Lex Davison still holds the record for the most Australian Grand Prix wins, jointly with Michael Schumacher on four.

Australians generally dominated the event before it officially became part of the Formula 1 World Championship in 1985. Bill Thompson, Doug Whiteford and Jack Brabham all won it thrice, along with more recent world champions Alain Prost, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel.

Of 2024's roster of drivers, only Lewis Hamilton is a multiple winner, topping the podium in 2008 and 2015.

Australia Grand Prix 2024 results

1. Carlos Sainz FERRARI
2. Charles Leclerc FERRARI
3. Lando Norris MCLAREN MERCEDES
4. Oscar Piastri MCLAREN MERCEDES
5. Sergio Perez RED BULL
6. Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN
7. Yuki Tsunoda RB HONDA
8. Fernando Alonso ASTON MARTIN
9. Nico Hulkenberg HAAS
10. Kevin Magnussen HAAS
11. Alexander Albon WILLIAMS
12. Daniel Ricciardo RB HONDA
13. Pierre Gasly ALPINE RENAULT
14. Valtteri Bottas KICK SAUBER
15. Zhou Guanyu KICK SAUBER
16. Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT
17. George Russell MERCEDES

DNF Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES
DNF Max Verstappen RED BULL

More from Tom's Guide

VPN statement

(Image credit: Future)
Contributor

Adam was the Content Director of Subscriptions and Services at Future, meaning that he oversaw many of the articles the publisher produces about antivirus software, VPN, TV streaming, broadband and mobile phone contracts - from buying guides and deals news, to industry interest pieces and reviews. Adam can still be seen dusting his keyboard off to write articles for the likes of TechRadar, T3 and Tom's Guide, having started his career at consumer champions Which?.