Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

ViewSonic VX2260wm

Roundup: 22-Inch LCD Monitors
By
Colors

Color handling is the VX2260wm's weak spot. With an average discrepancy between the colors sent by the graphics card and those actually shown on screen--a DeltaE score--of 4.1, it's difficult to say the colors are accurate when we really expect this measure to be below 3.

The only solution: reduce brightness to around to 80%.

The VX2260wm from ViewSonic is one of the companies first 22-inch monitors to come with a Full HD resolution (1920 x 1080).

This ViewSonic has a number of other attractive features.  As well as 2 ms TN panel and the magic trio of VGA, DVI and HDMI, there's also room for a pair of 1.5 W speakers and a headphone jack. The bezel remains very similar to the one found on the VX2262wm, but like the majority of other 22'' monitors, the stand only allows you to tilt it through a few degrees.

But what about this higher resolution?  Well, it allows the VX2260wm to show around 17% more information than a 'regular' 22'' monitor.  It's great for the latest generation of games consoles and HD movies.  There's more room on your desktop, with more horizontal space in particular.  The downside is natural enough: with 17% more pixels, you need 17% more work from your graphics card.  Games, in particular, are susceptible to looking less fluid than on traditional 22'' screens. The increase in resolution without changing the size of the screen won't just affect avid gamers; everything will also look smaller, including text.

Gaming

With the VX2260xm, ViewSonic has managed to create another speedy monitor that isn't held back by an input lag.  If you've got a modern, powerful graphics card, or if you want to hook it up to a PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360, you'll have a great gaming experience.
 
To get the very best out of it, you'll need to use the OSD to crank the Response Time up to 'Ultra Fast' mode.

Movies

Because there's no image correction chip, any weaknesses in the source signal will be painfully evident on the screen.  If you've got a good quality Blu-ray player (or a PlayStation 3), you shouldn't have any problems, but watching DVDs or DivX files on your PC leads to a lot of blurriness.

If you are watching movies on your on the VX2260wm, it's best to sit around a meter and a half away so that these distortions are less noticeable.

ViewSonic VX2260wm
ProsCons
  • Input lag only very slight
  • Very responsive
  • Full HD format great for movies
  • Reasonable energy consumption
  • Aspect ratio less good for PC gaming
  • TN panel so poor viewing angles
  • Default colors need calibration

Relatively rare for a 22'' monitor, this screen includes a Full HD panel with a fast 2 ms response time, and the magic trio of HDMI, VGA and DVI inputs. It's noticeably cheaper than a bigger 24'' model with the same features, too.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Streaming Video & TVs forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 23 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -9 Hide
    chinesemafia69 , July 27, 2009 6:09 AM
    first:D 
  • 0 Hide
    chinesemafia69 , July 27, 2009 6:10 AM
    wait...wheres the conclusion
  • 0 Hide
    quantumrand , July 27, 2009 8:30 AM
    I am a HUGE fan of LG's flatron monitors. They're generally very competitively priced for the quality you get.

    One word of advice though, Dont buy a monitor online unless it has a zero-dead pixel guaranty as well as free return shipping. With the extremely high pixel counts of today's LCDs, the odds of getting a dead pixel are actually quite high, so the ability to take it back to the store and exchange it without any fees is a real benefit.
  • 0 Hide
    randomizer , July 27, 2009 10:08 AM
    Need to see data, not just "record-breaking response times." A few of the monitors have some numbers but others have nothing more than a description.

    I second the blue dominance on the 2253BW as well. It's a shocker unless you reduce the blue to almost nothing.
  • 0 Hide
    coolkev99 , July 27, 2009 1:20 PM
    I have the Samsung 2253BW. They are right about the color and view angles. Took me a full day tinkering just to get the colors and positioning the way I wanted... big PITA. Once all setup its pretty nice. Best use as a gaming screen, built in hand drip makes moving around easy too.
  • 0 Hide
    randomizer , July 27, 2009 1:47 PM
    I found the 2253BW has bad buttons and bad button positions. My "menu" button doesn't really work and since you can't see any of the buttons it can be hard to find them sometimes.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , July 27, 2009 5:23 PM
    Thanks for the review. It helped me select which LCD Monitor worked best for me.
  • 3 Hide
    andyviant , July 27, 2009 6:36 PM
    Maybe I'm the only Toms reader not up on my display type acronyms, but TN could have been briefly defined prior to using it on every page of this writeup. For those also not in the loop it's Twisted Nematic.
  • 1 Hide
    ravenware , July 27, 2009 7:40 PM
    Aren't Dell LCDs just rebadged?
  • 2 Hide
    IzzyCraft , July 28, 2009 1:41 AM
    I dislike the trend to adding cheap speakers in all monitors above like 22" makes me feel like i'm paying for something i'll never use.
  • 1 Hide
    liemfukliang , July 28, 2009 12:23 PM
    which one the model that has true 24 bits color?
  • 1 Hide
    Anthelvar , July 29, 2009 8:58 PM
    I've got the samsung 2233rz 120hz refresh. GREAT GAMING MONITOR. Plus the 3d with Nvidia is awesome. Some good games are Mass Effect, Fallout 3 and Left 4 Dead. Mass effect is the most visually pleasing of them all, but Left 4 dead is the most fun to use it with.

    Also, it's about time that TOMS finally did a piece that GAMERS might be interested in. By the way, your new GPU charts stink, I don't want subcatagories of high end and low end, just the GPU's for the last 3 years. If you want, color code the charts to price brackets or better yet, Generations of models.

    You guys have lost touch with what gamers want. Plus your website was extremely laggy on the few articles I found interesting in the last month.
  • 0 Hide
    xsamitt , July 30, 2009 1:02 PM
    Hi Toms

    How about a roundup in the 24 inch class.Many of us feel a 24 is the way to go?Please Consider.Thank-You for this articles non the less.

    Xsamitt
  • 0 Hide
    eyemaster , July 30, 2009 7:53 PM
    I'm satisfied with the Samsung T240. I was using a CRT 19 before and this is quite an upgrade. Not the best monitor out there, but I got it for a heck of a deal!
  • 0 Hide
    dcinmich , July 31, 2009 2:08 AM
    When I built my first computer (the one I have now) I went with the LG W2252TQ. My niece has been using an LG monitor for a long time and she highly recommended I try one, so I thought I would take the hint. I picked this monitor up from my local Best Buy where the kind computer tech hooked it up to a PC for me so I could see what Windows looked like on it. I was sold immediately. This has turned out to be the best monitor I have ever owned.
  • 1 Hide
    matobinder , August 7, 2009 3:02 AM
    Very glad to see a LCD review. I'm dreading the day my current tube dies, as most LCDs still can't match them(decent tubes that is). Unless you get in to the 1000 dollar range. Just wish the resolution was better. 1680 x 1050 is losing some space to the traditional 1600x1200. Though 1920 x 1080 is a bit better.

    Hopefully more reviews and more consumer research will prompt companies to start making good quality LCDs and cheaper prices. Dell is kind of annoying, they used to sell some of their dispalys with PVA, and then changed them to TN, without changing the model #/Name. Grr.
  • 1 Hide
    matobinder , August 7, 2009 3:07 AM
    Oops, in regards to my last post. The Dell monitors weren't changed from PVA to TN, they were changed from S-IPS to TN.
  • 1 Hide
    matobinder , August 7, 2009 4:04 PM
    I'm just not on my game anymore. My two previous posts are wrong. Dell didn't switch from S-IPS to TN. They switched from S-IPS to PVA. Not so horrible. I got to work today and sat down at my computer, which is a 4 head box with 4 Dell 2007FP displays. 2 are S-IPS, and 2 are PVA. I can now see a bit of a difference, but its not so bad. S-IPS still looks a little nicer. But I never noticed until I started digging into it and figure out they were different techs.
  • 0 Hide
    ssssss , August 8, 2009 7:16 PM
    Too bad, I've just started using ViewSonic VX2262wm a few days ago...

    As the review said, even for the untrained eyes, the colors are noticeable bad and unable to get it right through OSD, which is disappointing.

    Viewing angle is bad. So bad that if you look at it at the distance closer that 30 cm, you're starting to see dark shadows on the top and the bottom of the screen. You should have keep it at 50 cm distance to see uniform color.

    The responsiveness are OK, but just don't compare it to CRT.

    The internal speakers are jokes. Maximum volume is relatively small compared to standard active speaker. If you turn up a little bit bass, the sound is cracking. At 100% volume setting, you can hear a little annoying static high frequency hiss/noise, even if you don't plug in the audio cable. To set it to almost unnoticeable, I can only set the volume level at around 60%. Included are the EAX virtual sound card that using up computer resources, so that there is silent moment every half a second.

    In short, don't buy it because of the speaker. ViewSonic should have put the money to improve the quality of the monitor instead of installing a pair of cheap speakers.

    To the credit of ViewSonic, the first unit that I ordered contained one dead subpixel. They replaced a new one for me.
  • 0 Hide
    ssssss , August 10, 2009 9:38 AM
    I've managed to improve the above-mentioned monitor's display accuracy by using the webpages...

    http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/
Display more comments
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter
  • add to twitter
  • add to facebook
  • ajouter un flux RSS