Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Best Gaming Keyboards 2014

Best Gaming Keyboards 2014
By

Whether you want to build your own gaming PC or purchase a pre-built machine, you'll need a keyboard to go with your new rig. Not only is a good gaming keyboard vital for your Internet and productivity needs, but it can also help you get the most out of your favorite PC games.

Gaming keyboards come in all shapes and sizes: simple, flashy, colorful, streamlined, big, small, genre-optimized and all-purpose. Finding the right one comes down to the right combination of feel and features for your money. Here are Tom's Guide's recommendations for gaming keyboards of every stripe.



Follow Marshall Honorof @marshallhonorof and on Google+. Follow us @tomsguide, on Facebook and on Google+.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Off-Topic / General Discussion forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 16 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    blackmagnum , January 27, 2014 11:22 PM
    Nothing new beats the responsiveness of classic PS/2 keyboards.
  • 0 Hide
    krobjack , January 28, 2014 4:38 AM
    I have the G710+ and love it!!
  • 0 Hide
    larsoncc , January 28, 2014 5:44 AM
    I have the BlackWidow and I think it's fantastic. Before that, I bought a keyboard very similar to the CM Storm QuickFire Rapid (QuickFire TK). While I loved the mechanical keys, I just could not get over the fact that I had to hit a button to switch between arrows and 10-key. I took it back for the Black Widow, and I am really happy with the results.
  • 1 Hide
    SinisterSalad , January 28, 2014 6:24 AM
    Best gaming keyboard isn't a keyboard at all. n52/Orbweaver.
  • -2 Hide
    voltronnn , January 28, 2014 8:02 AM
    How much did Razer pay you for this article?
  • -1 Hide
    Timendo , January 28, 2014 8:38 AM
    Really, the amount of Razer, they're overpriced imo.Also, Sidewider best budget gaming keyboard? What about Corsair Raptors K30/K40?
  • 0 Hide
    athlon7750 , January 28, 2014 9:17 AM
    Quote:
    How much did Razer pay you for this article?
    They sell themselves cheap. It's usually just the reviewed products that they get to keep and nothing more. Razer sends them some KB's today and they're the best. Tomorrow, another company sends them some other keyboards and they become the best.
  • 0 Hide
    Red_Frog , January 30, 2014 8:34 AM
    Quote:
    Nothing new beats the responsiveness of classic PS/2 keyboards.
    This. Who needs hyperesponse or megams, or whatever silly name these guys come up with next for advertising their USB overclocking method on a keyboard when you have a direct line to 09h and n-key rollover. I don't have time to wait for USB.
  • 0 Hide
    Eliminati , March 28, 2014 3:21 PM
    The SteelSeries Merc Stealth is the only keyboard I have EVER seen to have a side area with the WASD layout, with 1-6 and 7-11 right above it. It is PERFECT for MMO, FPS, regular RPG (Mass Effect, Dragon Age, Witcher types). All of the keys are positioned just right. It has a backlight, has great sounding keys (though not mechanical), and durable.The only problem is that they discontinued it but they are still on Amazon and eBay for sixty bucks. I will probably get another just to have a backup.No one else makes one like this, and I don't want a stand-alone WASD-like mini-keyboard.
  • 0 Hide
    chugot9218 , July 9, 2014 12:06 PM
    I don't know why people complain about Razer, it's a bit expensive but it's not like they are billing themselves as cheap. I have a Razer Naga Hex and the Razer Tiamat 2.2, which I bought after I bought the Black Widow, to me they were worth the premium for their features and it looks cool. Why dog on a company that is specifically trying to cater to gamers?
  • 0 Hide
    Dom_79 , July 11, 2014 11:35 AM
    Might be nice to specify that the K-70 with Red LEDs is the only one of the series released together that hasn't been EOL'd (End Of Life).
    P.S.: Sorry to everyone who got/is getting shafted by Corsair with being forced to take a black keyboard with Red LEDs. Or if you complain enough a black keyboard with White LEDs that also fail.
  • 0 Hide
    Dom_79 , July 11, 2014 11:36 AM
    Might be nice to specify that the K-70 with Red LEDs is the only one of the series released together that hasn't been EOL'd (End Of Life).
    P.S.: Sorry to everyone who got/is getting shafted by Corsair with being forced to take a black keyboard with Red LEDs. Or if you complain enough a black keyboard with White LEDs that also fail.
  • 0 Hide
    Ninjawithagun , August 6, 2014 5:42 AM
    Every single keyboard shown here are BORING!! When is a real next-generation ergonomic AND moular keyboard and game controller combo setup going to be released that allows for the gamer to configure it based upon their gaming style? Also, the option for changing the LED backlight (16 million colors!) should be standard on all keyboards by now. Let's stop living in the 20th Century. It's time to start innovating agan!
  • 0 Hide
    jpishgar , August 7, 2014 12:55 PM
    Quote:
    How much did Razer pay you for this article?


    No one paid us for this article. There are articles/white papers/advertorials we get paid for, but those are clearly indicated and marked as such, and we don't sell review ranks. Tom's has a very longstanding history of being the site that doesn't care whether or not you'll pull your ad money if we tell the truth about your product. It's how we made our bones in the first place way back in the day with the CPU reviews and all the pay for play that was going around. We don't play around with our core essence like that.

    At least the editorial/news guys don't. Me, well I'm in Community and I don't write hardware reviews. I'm super open to big checks and goodies. :p 

    Quote:
    They sell themselves cheap. It's usually just the reviewed products that they get to keep and nothing more. Razer sends them some KB's today and they're the best. Tomorrow, another company sends them some other keyboards and they become the best.


    The editorial/news guys aren't for sale. You can send them a product to review, but it goes into a pool, and the pool is reserved for future reviews so we can compare the future stuff with the past stuff. Which company sends us what isn't a determining factor in anything. If an OEM is smart, it'll send us their latest product, our guys review it, and the thing goes into the pool. If an OEM isn't smart, but a bunch of you guys are asking for us to review something, a lot of times the guys will pester the OEM to send us a product to review, and in other cases, we'll just go out and buy one. Either or, the result is the same.

    -JP
  • 0 Hide
    Gee Bee , September 4, 2014 6:10 PM
    I use a Roccat Ryos MK Pro and one month in it is imo better than my razor ultimate stealth. The per lighting is useful to, not just for good looks. it cost about the same as my razor. I even swapped my razor naga for a kone i was so impressed by the ryos.
  • 0 Hide
    Gee Bee , September 4, 2014 6:12 PM
    I use a Roccat Ryos MK Pro and one month in it is imo better than my razor ultimate stealth. The per lighting is useful to, not just for good looks. it cost about the same as my razor. I even swapped my razor naga for a kone i was so impressed by the ryos.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter