When Google launched Google+ last week, those of us who received invites quickly discovered that the service builds your G+ page on top of your Google Profiles page. Instead of your Google Profiles page showing up in search results, it's your G+ profile people are going to see. Today we learn that, in preparation for the public rollout of Google+, Mountain View is eliminating the option to have your profile hidden.
According to a statement from Google, all private profiles will be deleted come July 31. Though you can still tweak your privacy settings so a minimal amount of information is on display to the public (the minimum is name and gender), it's bad news for those that don't want yet another profile to manage. Still, Google feels the purpose of Google+ is to enable you to connect with others, and you can't do that if they can't find you.
"The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity," Google said in a statement. "Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.
"Keep in mind that your full name and gender are the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share.
If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted after July 31, 2011."