Sign-in / Sign-up

Best Soundbars 2015

Best Soundbars 2015
By

A soundbar is a great addition to a home theater setup — it means you don't need to spring for four speakers, plus a subwoofer, to get great audio. Sitting unobtrusively below a TV, soundbars are a worthy upgrade from your TV's audio, without the clutter of a traditional setup. Some also come with wireless subwoofers to handle deep bass. Here are our top recommendations for soundbars with the right features and connections for your needs and budget.

Related Buying Guides:
Best TVs
Best Headphones and Earbuds
Best Bluetooth Speakers
Display all 14 comments.
  • 0 Hide
    anchoragedj , May 17, 2014 2:39 AM
    Gotta tell ya, it's spendy but incredible sound. Both 'musically' and for theater/surround reflection. The B&W Panorama2 improved on the original significantly. HDMI inputs, including a forth 'bi-directional' HDMI connector so your tv can be rerouted through the soundbar itself. Sub out and you're set in a medium, even large living room. While the Bose is an excellent bar, the Pano is a MONSTER in comparison..IMHO, and as always your mileage may vary;)
    J
  • 0 Hide
    Colin Lee , October 27, 2014 1:35 AM
    I can see I need to do more research...
  • 0 Hide
    Heshacherrr , November 3, 2014 6:40 AM
    I am very curious why there are no review of any of the new Bose soundbars (the Cinemate 15, 120 or 130). I was considering buying one of them but found absolutely no reviews of them.
  • 1 Hide
    Martinaia , December 12, 2014 12:19 PM
    Sony is best. Beats overrated bose easy!
  • 0 Hide
    zerk11 , December 22, 2014 3:23 PM
    Creative SoundBlaster ROAR for $149 is the best out there.
  • 0 Hide
    watchingcrow , January 6, 2015 12:42 PM
    Hey Tom's,
    I just bought a Toshiba 40" 1080 with a DTS (digital output) and am trying to upgrade somewhat but someone once told me it is a lot easier to spend to little money than too much. Anyway, 2.1 is attractive for a bunch of reasons but I read that that was not surround sound and with only two speakers was really for listening to music. So I started looking at the 5.1 don't really need the woofer if there is one built in but what I am most interested in the having the "center speakers" as my wife and i have trouble with speech/dialog etc and have read that that goes through the center speakers and you can increase the volume there and have better speach recognition. So, anyway, i see that you are only recommending the 2.1 systems here and so it looks like you don't agree with the need for 5.1
  • 0 Hide
    rexter , January 7, 2015 8:18 AM
    There no mention of Niro or even Nakamichi
  • 0 Hide
    iam2thecrowe , February 19, 2015 2:37 AM
    best "sound bar" is a pair of stereo speakers.........seriously just a small bookshelf speaker on each side of your tv if you don't have room for something large. I'm sorry one of those people still finding it hard to believe how anything in "bar" form takes off so easily, even if its crap. I find it hard to believe the Bose is a top pick considering most audio sites gave it an average rating and poor value for money. Did you actually review the Bose system? or just pop it in the article because of the name or amazon reviews?
  • 0 Hide
    Runamok81 , February 22, 2015 4:29 PM
    Can't believe no one reviews the Phillips Fidelio HTL 7180. Wireless sub AND wireless surrounds. $350.
  • 0 Hide
    jiabelselo , April 15, 2015 11:29 PM
    well,Wireless sub AND wireless surrounds. $350. thanks
  • 0 Hide
    yorich , April 29, 2015 11:29 PM
    Goldenear Super Cinema 3d array...best 999.99 I've ever spent. Sounds better than any of this crap here, looks fantastic, couldn't be happier. This list is a joke
  • 0 Hide
    mamiefurax , August 25, 2015 6:01 AM
    Just weighing in a $1,000 "best gaming sound bar" vs a $200 one. Hmpf. I'm not a millionaire gamer.
  • 0 Hide
    Willie0 , August 25, 2015 6:18 AM
    I would like to agree about Sony. It has been my experience and its really good to use than other brands.
  • 0 Hide
    mrerse1 , August 26, 2015 7:13 AM
    I thought I loved my Sony, until I heard my friends new Sound Appeal Soundbar with wireless subwoofer. I am ashamed to admit that it puts mine to shame for only a few bucks more- uughh . If it was in my budget I would pick the Golden Ear Super Cinema , great soundbar that I demoed at a local audio store.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter
  • add to twitter
  • add to facebook
  • ajouter un flux RSS