Skip to main content

Microsoft Delays Xbox One Launch in Eight Countries

When Microsoft unveiled the Xbox One earlier this year, the company said that 21 countries would be getting the Xbox One when the console launched in November. These 21 countries were Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the the United States. Unfortunately, Microsoft this week confirmed that eight countries have since been bumped from that list.

MORE: PS4 vs. Xbox One: Console Comparison

Microsoft on Wednesday labeled its intention to deliver the Xbox One to 21 markets at launch 'an aggressive goal' before revealing that Belgium, Russia, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Finland, and Denmark have been bumped from the launch day list. Gamers in the aforementioned markets will be disappointed to learn that they won't actually get the console this year. Though Microsoft has not named a new release date for these countries, the company did say it was committed to launching the Xbox One in as soon as possible ... in 2014.

"We understand this will be disappointing news for our fans in the impacted countries, and we are doing everything we can to bring Xbox One to you as soon as possible next year," Microsoft said on Wednesday.

Microsoft didn't offer much in the way of an explanation for the delay other than highlighting the factors that determine the timing of specific market launches (localizing the Xbox One dash, incorporating additional voice and languages, etc.). The company is also bundling a pack-in game with pre-orders that have already been placed in the affected countries.