Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Razer Mamba

New Mice: Razer Mamba and Wow-Pen
By

With its new Mamba mouse, Razer is demonstrating a lot of advanced technology.  It boasts a polling speed of 1000 Hz, its laser sensor has a maximum resolution of 5600 dpi and it can be used in either wired or wireless mode.

It also includes a built-in memory to store your custom settings and a recharging dock.  At first sight, it looks just like the very well known Death Adder from the same manufacturer.  The only difference is the scroll wheel and the two extra buttons on the left which now allow you to adjust sensitivity on the fly. 

Specifications
Sensor
Laser
Wired?/Docking Station?
Yes / Yes
Battery
Li-Ion Battery
Frame Rate
2.4 GHz
Maximum Resolution
5600 dpi
Reporting Frequency
1000 hz

  
5600 dpi: is it really necessary?

Razer's mouse has a maximum resolution of 5600 dpi, but at this level, the sensor is way too sensitive.  So much so, in fact, that it becomes impossible to use for work or play.  Fortunately, you can use the driver to reconfigure five different levels.  Then, to move from one to the other, you just need to use one of the two buttons on the left side of the mouse.  For instance, on our test system which uses two 24'' monitors, we went for 800, 1200, 1600, 2000 and 2400 dpi.


Handling

When you first look at it, the Razer Mamba looks like a mouse that's designed with comfort in mind.  However, it doesn't work like that in practice at all.  Unlike what you might think, the shape doesn't make it easy to put your hand directly on top of.  Just like its Razer predecessors, the Mamba is best controlled with the fingertips.  That means that your carpal tunnel never gets a chance to relax, and because most of the weight is at the back of the mouse, your wrist gets tired very quickly.

Let's compare it to some of our favorite alternatives.   The Steelseries Ikari is a clear winner: it's more comfortable, with the hand in a more natural position and is lighter.  Likewise, the Nova X600 slides much more easily on its ceramic pads.  They impressed us so much that we would have liked to have seen this kind of feet expand to all mice.

Driver

Once again, Razer has written a very complete driver.  The manufacturer manages to make it easy to use without scrimping on features: everything you need is there.  You can assign macros to any of the seven programmable buttons, and save up to five profiles on the mouse's internal memory.  In short, Razer gives its customers the chance to control everything about their mouse.

Hybrid mouse

This mouse isn't the first hybrid to take part in our tests.  The most recent was the Microsoft Sidewinder X8, whose magnetic system we praised for allowing the user to switch from wireless to wired mode very quickly.

Here, though, Razer has chosen a less practical system.  To switch from one to the other, you need to unplug the USB cable from the dock to connect it directly to the mouse.  You can't do this in the middle of a key section in the game without losing the mouse's signal for a moment.  Worse still, the connectors aren't very well designed for this use either.  If you're not careful with them and yank them out too quickly, you can break the whole thing.

Pluses
Minuses
  • Hybird: wireless or wired
  • Very accurate laser sensor
  • Resolution can be adjusted on the fly
  • Internal memory so the mouse can save different profiles
  • Slides very easily
  • Handling: too heavy at the back
  • Hybrid system works less well than Microsoft's
Display all 15 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    rambo117 , August 31, 2009 6:55 PM
    that wow-pen mouse is one weirdass design.

    no thankyou
  • 3 Hide
    thackstonns , August 31, 2009 7:32 PM
    wow two whole mice. and both are a dissapointment
  • -1 Hide
    nun , August 31, 2009 8:30 PM
    just why
  • 0 Hide
    Tomsguiderachel , August 31, 2009 10:38 PM
    thackstonnswow two whole mice. and both are a dissapointment

    How many mice would you like to see at at time? We bring 'em to you as we get 'em. In a year that will likely include at least a dozen.
  • 0 Hide
    arael , September 1, 2009 5:55 AM
    I've got the Razer Mamba at home, and if I had the chance to go back in time I definitely wouldn't have purchased it.
    It's a great mouse once you get used to it, but I keep having issues with the cursor lagging/locking up occasionally, it's fairly heavy as mentioned and the battery life isn't as great as they say on the website/box. Save your money and get a different mouse IMO, I wish I had :( 
  • 0 Hide
    chinesemafia69 , September 1, 2009 8:18 AM
    fail mouse
  • 0 Hide
    dokk2 , September 1, 2009 1:08 PM
    Again ,,, no place for the pinky finger to rest,are these manufacturers naturally dense or are they just working at it ???:) 
  • 0 Hide
    eodeo , September 1, 2009 5:52 PM
    i think they look awesome. I'd very much like to give one a try. Looking at the pictures it seems that someone has finally addressed the natural hand shape position and made 2 main mouse buttons on shape and rotation they should be.

    Having 2 thumb buttons is definitely a plus.

    I cant understand why the reviewer didnt like the mouse and why he kept insisting in referring to himself in plural... He was totally vague in his criticism. I guess I need to try it to understand.

    Judging from the pictures alone, I want one!
  • 0 Hide
    eodeo , September 1, 2009 5:54 PM
    just noticed it was a 2 mice review. obviously, I was talking about the wow pen mouse.
  • 0 Hide
    Major7up , September 2, 2009 3:29 AM
    The WOW mouse seems absurd and impractical but I applaud the manufacturer for trying something new, even if it is a complete failure. You can't have winners without losers!!
  • 0 Hide
    thackstonns , September 2, 2009 8:28 PM
    TomsguiderachelHow many mice would you like to see at at time? We bring 'em to you as we get 'em. In a year that will likely include at least a dozen.


    well you could rate them with some old mice that people already have like the revolution, or a few other razr mice. That way we know how they compare, or better yet throw that stupid mice out of the comparison and just do an indepth article on the mamba. That is the only one anyone really cares about anyway. Or two seperate reviews. One on the dumb one saying its junk, and a second for the mamba. I would just review the mice one at a time when they come in, instead of waiting a month because no one wants to use it.
  • 0 Hide
    pocketdrummer , September 4, 2009 3:26 PM
    The fingers on the desk thing isn't uncommon. Have you ever used a G9? It's so small you practically have two fingers on the desk.

    I'd like to see how ergonomic the mouse is, though. It doesn't seem to be for gamers.... which would lead me to believe that you went into this review with the wrong expectations.

    Ironic, because that's not uncommon of Tom's Hardware. ugh.....
  • 1 Hide
    mpasternak , September 4, 2009 6:04 PM
    The "i can't rest my whole hand on the mouse" argument isn't a good one for the razor mouse to be honest. The razor mouse is designed for gaming, and twitch gaming at that. If you're playing First Person shooters with your entire hand on the mouse, you're going to get destroyed.

    putting your entire hand on the mouse would require you to move your whole hand / arm to move the mouse. Where is using only your fingers you can plant your wrist (I know bad for carpell tunnell) and move the mouse extremely quickly in a short range. This coincides with the DPI settings. you can change quickly between the DPI settings to controll just how far and how much that subtle motion moves you. the higher you set it, the more you turn, the lower you set it, the slower.

    So if you're running around the halls of Counterstrike with your pistol out, you can be on high sensitivity so you can whip around looking everywhere. than pull out your sniper, switch to the lowest sensitivity and have incredible accuracy.

  • 0 Hide
    changkong78 , September 8, 2009 4:17 AM
    "Choosing a mouse is a personal affair.

    What glides effortlessly along like greased lightning in one's hand might plod along clumsily like a mule in another's. What opens new realms of performance for one gamer might open new windows of grief for another.

    This perceived 'inconsistency' is a source of great puzzlement and chagrin to many gamers today, who often attribute a mouse's less-than-satisfactory performance to manufacturing defects, inherent design flaws, or worse—technological impotence.

    And because our hands and playstyles vary in a great many ways, word of mouth and mimicry can only go so far." - Razer Mouse Guide.

    Each Razer mouse are designed for a particular mouse usage style. They have researched it and even came up with a guide on how to select a mouse.

    http://www2.razerzone.com/MouseGuide/index.html

    What is perfect for you might not be for me. I own and have tried all of Razer and Steelseries offerings, and the one that is suited for me is the Razer Lachesis. Mamba and Death Adder comes close but just fall short of perfect comfort.

    So, the Mamba is not comfortable for you, but you can't just dismiss it as uncomfortable for all and then brand the Ikari as a 'clear winner'. It's a winner only for you.
  • 0 Hide
    geothefaust , October 9, 2012 7:14 PM
    I actually use this mouse on a regular basis (Wow Pen Mouse Joy), and ignoring it's stupid name, it's the best mouse I've ever used. I have no pain in my wrist or forearm while using it compared to other ergonomic mice (especially compared to that of a Evoluent). The position and posturing is the best for me. If you use it for more than 6 hours and come at with an objective view (seems people don't like the design), I think you'll come to the same conclusion. That is, it being a great ergonomic mouse.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter