Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Logitech G9x

Roundup Review: 9 Gaming Mice
By

Logitech’s fat and short design for the G9x is identical to that of the previous G9. As one of Logitech’s more recent designs, the G9x is a large, sturdy mouse made for people who move the mouse predominantly with the palm, instead of their fingers or using their whole hand.

The G9x has several interesting features, all of which are identical to the G9 and select Logitech mice. First, there is an interchangeable grip. The G9x comes standard with a thinner plastic mesh or a thicker glossier surface, and users can upload images to Logitech’s online store for a personalized grip. We tested one of the pre-configured models and, while the graphic design was obscured by our hands, the grip itself was more comfortable than the two included grips. Customized grips are $20 each.

A small tin case contains four four-gram and four seven-gram metal weights, which can be placed inside a special compartment inside the mouse to add to the mouse’s stability. Adding these weights is entirely optional, and players have plenty of weight options. Our personal favorite is the heaviest option. More stability equals better control, from our perspective, but any assortment of weights can be placed in the mouse.

Because the G9x has a dots per inch (DPI) maximum of 5700, Logitech wanted to make sure users had quick access to settings. The included SetPoint software is easy to install and use, and makes it easy to quickly set up several profiles for the mouse. These settings include adjusting the sensitivity, how your operating system functions with the mouse, various profiles with different sensitivity settings, and more.

Those sensitivity settings also appear directly on the mouse via the LED display. Sensitivity is denoted by the number of bars while the profile used changes based on the color of the lighting. Up to five DPI settings and three profiles can be set. Sensitivity can be adjusted immediately using the “plus” and “minus” buttons below the left mouse button. These buttons are very well placed, easy to press, and never in the way or unintentionally pressed.

Perhaps our favorite feature is the “hyper-scrolling wheel.” This mouse wheel functions not only as a third mouse button and scroll wheel with right and left scrolling control, but it can also be set to scroll in a frictionless mode, where a small push will have the wheel spinning. While most other mouse-scroll wheels are stuck in place, the hyper-scroll is surprisingly enjoyable to use for many non-gaming applications, such as Web browsing long pages, going through a long list of notes, and other uses. But when it comes to gaming, which mostly involves the use of the scroll wheel for changing weapons, it’s simply too much. On the bottom of the mouse is a button to push a lever in place so that the scroll wheel acts normally.

The G9x is a very capable gaming mouse. Using the customized grip, we found it very comfortable to play with for hours at a time. The other grips weren’t as comfortable. Changing between DPI settings was especially easy, and the two thumb buttons are tactile. As a gaming mouse, the G9x succeeds.

Where it falters is the scroll wheel. As is the case with the wheel, the third mouse button, and the left and right scrolling functions, it isn’t tactile or easy to use. Pressing the scroll wheel to activate the third mouse button is next to impossible without scrolling. It’s also very difficult to push. It’s far too easy to accidentally scroll left or right, although thankfully most applications do not make use of that function.

One other downside is that the customizable grips drag slightly, which slows the mouse down, although they were the most comfortable compared to the other mice we reviewed. On hard surfaces like wooden tables the mouse drags and makes noise when moved, but this isn’t a problem on mousepads.

The G9x retails for $100, although we found deals for around $80. The cheaper and older G9 is identical to the G9X, except for its less sensitive laser. It’s also an excellent buy, although it only reads up to 3,200 DPI.

Gaming Performance: 4.5
Non-Gaming Performance: 5
Comfort: 3.5
Features: 4.5
Price: 3

Overall: 4/5

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Streaming Video & TVs forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 39 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 9 Hide
    grillz9909 , December 18, 2009 5:17 PM
    Blah... no deathadder?
  • 6 Hide
    prince_david , December 18, 2009 5:18 PM
    I really enjoy my classic death adder.
  • 5 Hide
    jamezrp , December 18, 2009 5:39 PM
    DeathAdder's a great mouse guys, but it's older, and we've already looked at it before. It went into our holiday guide as well, as one of our favorite mice.
  • -1 Hide
    damian86 , December 18, 2009 6:22 PM
    Too much useless buttons on the razer,i don't even use all the G's on my G15 kb+ too fat
  • -6 Hide
    Luscious , December 18, 2009 7:36 PM
    Mice are so yesterday - Trackballs FTW!
  • 0 Hide
    steiner666 , December 18, 2009 8:11 PM
    i wish razer would make a new version of the diamonback with better quality construction. I havent found a more comfortable mouse for my hands, but the left mouse button started to go bad on mine, and the cable started to short out where it connects to the front of the mouse. My G9 has buttons that feel like they will last much longer, the side buttons are nicer and easier to use, and the braided-material-covered cord feels like it will hold up better... but the things just too short and doesnt feel as good with my usual claw-ish grip...
  • 2 Hide
    chechak , December 18, 2009 9:15 PM
    i think Logitech G5 and Logitech G9 and Logitech G9x is better than any mic ,i'll chose one of them (difference in price )
  • 1 Hide
    AMW1011 , December 18, 2009 9:51 PM
    steiner666i wish razer would make a new version of the diamonback with better quality construction. I havent found a more comfortable mouse for my hands, but the left mouse button started to go bad on mine, and the cable started to short out where it connects to the front of the mouse. My G9 has buttons that feel like they will last much longer, the side buttons are nicer and easier to use, and the braided-material-covered cord feels like it will hold up better... but the things just too short and doesnt feel as good with my usual claw-ish grip...


    My wired diamondback has worked great for 3, going on 4 years now. I also carry it around a lot so it is abused a bit.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , December 18, 2009 10:44 PM
    What about the Razer Mamba?
  • -4 Hide
    dingumf , December 18, 2009 11:37 PM
    grillz9909Blah... no deathadder?


    DeathAdder is crap. Razer is crap. Mouse wheel and grips deteriorate after about a year.

    worse piece of crap I ever bought
  • 0 Hide
    prince_david , December 19, 2009 1:01 AM
    damian86Too much useless buttons on the razer,i don't even use all the G's on my G15 kb+ too fat

    If you play MMOs like World of Warcraft you do end up using all your buttons. Having extra instant cast attacks really helps in PVP combat.
  • 0 Hide
    overshocks2 , December 19, 2009 1:26 AM
    go to 7th page. 3rd paragraph. change LDC to LCD.
  • -1 Hide
    Elementgreen , December 19, 2009 2:26 AM
    dingumf, chill out. Just because your specific product might not have lasted doesn't justify that the whole Company is crap. Mass produced products doesn't guarantee that what you're getting is going to be perfectly produced (and this shouldn't even come to mind when buying anything considering the chances of actually getting a poorly built product)

    I've had my Deathadder for a couple of years now, and I've had 0 issues with it. None of the parts have worn down, and it plays just like new. There's no reason to shoot your mouth off like a child because you might have had an unsatisfactory experience with Razer.

    I'm going to say that I've never had a piece of Logitech equipment that has lasted me more than a couple of months. I've bought a few headsets, and mice from them, and none of them have lasted longer than 3 months, and the product wasn't all that good for me to begin with. It's just a preference, and I would have eventually gotten used to the mice, but I wasted a bit of cash investing in Logitech. After I got a Razer I've stuck to them, and even bought a Razer keyboard, and both have been performing fantastically.

    Guys, the Deathadder is an AMAZING MOUSE. For me, Razer has been a solid company, especially in comparison to Logitech. At least give them a shot.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , December 19, 2009 2:38 AM
    Man, I'd love to see this article expanded every now and then...specially with some older stuff and then newer stuff as it comes out. I will say though, that I felt the graph was tough to read, if you added the scores, then represented it as a stacked bar graph, it would be much easier to compare mice.
  • 2 Hide
    the associate , December 19, 2009 4:11 AM
    I know il get thumbs down for this but here goes...

    Wtf no wireless Logitech G7/sidewinder X8/Razer Mamba gaming mouse???
    I know what your gona say, batteries suck, but tell that to the sidewinder X8, or the Razer Mamba, you attach a cord to recharge...if you can't attach a cord to a mouse during the last 2 hours of the battery's life in which it flashes the entire time to warn you of your battery's condition, then you don't deserve a gaming mouse.... I own a G7 and X8 and all I do is game, the tracking is superb on the G7, and you can make 5 dpi settings, the X8 has a very open grip, doesn't leave your hand feeling squeezed, and id try the razer mamba but thats one pricy mouse.
    I wish someone made a hybrid of a sidewinder x8 and logitech g7, the hand comfort and functionality of the x8 with the strong build quality and excellent laser tracking of the g7...maybe it's the mamba, but im not desperate enough to spend 115 bucks on a mouse yet
  • 2 Hide
    the associate , December 19, 2009 4:12 AM
    Scratch the X8 part in my post... -.-
  • 1 Hide
    aethm , December 19, 2009 3:42 PM
    really like my G5. I've had it for several years now. It's the only mouse that seems to fit my hand comfortably. It has enough buttons and custom button mapping makes it very versatile. Haven't tried the G500 but it has the same shape so that's what I'll be buying when my G5 craps out. BTW.. I own several rather expensive peripherals and the G5 mouse is one of the best purchases I've ever made.
  • 2 Hide
    joshthor , December 19, 2009 10:06 PM
    dingumfDeathAdder is crap. Razer is crap. Mouse wheel and grips deteriorate after about a year. worse piece of crap I ever bought

    deathadder is an amazing mouse. its the only gaming mouse that has lasted me. i have had it for 2 years, the mouse feet are perfect and the wheel is perfect and everything works great.
  • 0 Hide
    jamezrp , December 19, 2009 11:56 PM
    Guys, as I said, the Deathadder is an older mouse so it didn't make the cut for this roundup. We did mention it as part of possible Razer mice you might be interested in.

    The Associate and GTQ: the Logitech G7 is also very old, so we didn't include it. The Mamba...we wanted to include it, but Razer was unable to get it in to us in time for this roundup. Though my research of the mouse, at least compared to the SideWinder X8, says that the X8 is a better mouse overall. I have not tested or used the G7 at all, though perhaps at CES Logitech will announce a new wireless gaming mouse. That would be quite exciting.
  • 2 Hide
    slayvus , December 20, 2009 12:03 AM
    I think you could've done better on the mouse selection.

    There are a lot more mice that you could've tested.

    For example

    Cooler Master Storm Sentinel
    OZone Gaming Smog Gaming Mouse
    Steel Series Ikari
    OCZ Behemoth
    OCZ Eclipse
    HP's Gaming Mouse with VooDooDNA
Display more comments
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter