Tom's Guide > Forum > Digital Camera > Digital SLR > Amazon Prices?

Amazon Prices?

Forum Digital Camera : Digital SLR - Amazon Prices?

TomsGuide.com: Over 800,000 questions and answers to address all your high-tech questions. Sign up now! Its free!
Word :    Username :           
 

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

I'm seeing some amazing prices for Digital SLRs such as the Canon
Digital Rebel XT on Amazon, half of what I can find anywhere else, in
fact so good it makes me question if it's legit. I find it through the
Amazon search, but it's through one of the Zshops... Anyone hear of any
ripoffs filtering through the Amazon.com site? I inquired about one and
they requested I send a moneygram to Romainia... as they say, if it
sounds too good to be true, it usually is.. I contacted Amazon a week
ago to ask if it's real, but never heard back from them.

SK

Sponsored Links
Register or log in to remove.

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

Sken wrote:
>
> I'm seeing some amazing prices for Digital SLRs such as the Canon
> Digital Rebel XT on Amazon, half of what I can find anywhere else, in
> fact so good it makes me question if it's legit. I find it through the
> Amazon search, but it's through one of the Zshops... Anyone hear of any
> ripoffs filtering through the Amazon.com site? I inquired about one and
> they requested I send a moneygram to Romainia... as they say, if it
> sounds too good to be true, it usually is.. I contacted Amazon a week
> ago to ask if it's real, but never heard back from them.
>
> SK

Sounds like you could have a hijack program redirecting you to a ripoff
site made to look like Amazon. Romainia? Not likely.

Colin D.

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

In article <4327A7A1.201368FF@killspam.127.0.0.1>, Colin D
<ColinD@killspam.127.0.0.1> wrote:

> Sken wrote:
> >
> > I'm seeing some amazing prices for Digital SLRs such as the Canon
> > Digital Rebel XT on Amazon, half of what I can find anywhere else, in
> > fact so good it makes me question if it's legit. I find it through the
> > Amazon search, but it's through one of the Zshops... Anyone hear of any
> > ripoffs filtering through the Amazon.com site? I inquired about one and
> > they requested I send a moneygram to Romainia... as they say, if it
> > sounds too good to be true, it usually is.. I contacted Amazon a week
> > ago to ask if it's real, but never heard back from them.
> >
> > SK
>
> Sounds like you could have a hijack program redirecting you to a ripoff
> site made to look like Amazon. Romainia? Not likely.
>
> Colin D.

There are scams running in the "new and used" shops all over Amazon.
Treat them like eBay. Check the feedback and proceed with caution.

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

Steve Cutchen wrote:
> In article <4327A7A1.201368FF@killspam.127.0.0.1>, Colin D
> <ColinD@killspam.127.0.0.1> wrote:
>
> > Sken wrote:
> > >
> > > I'm seeing some amazing prices for Digital SLRs such as the Canon
> > > Digital Rebel XT on Amazon, half of what I can find anywhere else, in
> > > fact so good it makes me question if it's legit. I find it through the
> > > Amazon search, but it's through one of the Zshops... Anyone hear of any
> > > ripoffs filtering through the Amazon.com site? I inquired about one and
> > > they requested I send a moneygram to Romainia... as they say, if it
> > > sounds too good to be true, it usually is.. I contacted Amazon a week
> > > ago to ask if it's real, but never heard back from them.
> > >
> > > SK
> >
> > Sounds like you could have a hijack program redirecting you to a ripoff
> > site made to look like Amazon. Romainia? Not likely.
> >
> > Colin D.
>
> There are scams running in the "new and used" shops all over Amazon.
> Treat them like eBay. Check the feedback and proceed with caution.

Amazon may also be selling "Gray Market" products. Basicly, a product
without a US warranty. Again use caution.

roland

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

"Sken" <SK@nospam.com> wrote in message
news:QsLVe.70845$xl6.32938@tornado.tampabay.rr.com...

> I'm seeing some amazing prices for Digital SLRs such as the Canon Digital
> Rebel XT on Amazon, half of what I can find anywhere else, in fact so good
> it makes me question if it's legit. I find it through the Amazon search,
> but it's through one of the Zshops...

Which one?

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

I recently bought a Sigma 30mm lens for my Nikon directly from Amazon. Was
distressed to find out it only came with 1 yr. warranty, vs. 5 year if I had
bought from photo shops like B&H. Assume therefore it was "grey market"
although not listed as such. So, would proceed with caution with Amazon
photo equipment, unless its clear that item is USA warrantied.
Fred

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

FMV wrote:

> I recently bought a Sigma 30mm lens for my Nikon directly from
> Amazon. Was distressed to find out it only came with 1 yr. warranty,
> vs. 5 year if I had bought from photo shops like B&H. Assume
> therefore it was "grey market" although not listed as such. So,
> would proceed with caution with Amazon photo equipment, unless its
> clear that item is USA warrantied.

My experience has been if you get through the first year you aren't going to
have any manufacturer related problems.





Rita

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital.slr-systems (More info?)

 

In article <1126704707.605455.59730@g47g2000cwa.googlegroups.com>,
piperut <rbehunin@alumni.weber.edu> wrote:

> Steve Cutchen wrote:
> > In article <4327A7A1.201368FF@killspam.127.0.0.1>, Colin D
> > <ColinD@killspam.127.0.0.1> wrote:
> >
> > > Sken wrote:
> > > >
> > > > I'm seeing some amazing prices for Digital SLRs such as the Canon
> > > > Digital Rebel XT on Amazon, half of what I can find anywhere else, in
> > > > fact so good it makes me question if it's legit. I find it through the
> > > > Amazon search, but it's through one of the Zshops... Anyone hear of any
> > > > ripoffs filtering through the Amazon.com site? I inquired about one and
> > > > they requested I send a moneygram to Romainia... as they say, if it
> > > > sounds too good to be true, it usually is.. I contacted Amazon a week
> > > > ago to ask if it's real, but never heard back from them.
> > > >
> > > > SK
> > >
> > > Sounds like you could have a hijack program redirecting you to a ripoff
> > > site made to look like Amazon. Romainia? Not likely.
> > >
> > > Colin D.
> >
> > There are scams running in the "new and used" shops all over Amazon.
> > Treat them like eBay. Check the feedback and proceed with caution.
>
> Amazon may also be selling "Gray Market" products. Basicly, a product
> without a US warranty. Again use caution.

I've never seen anything but normal US merchandise from Amazon and the
vendors it hosts as primary partners. And I've never heard of anyone
having any kind of scam-related problem with these vendors.

The problem comes about with the Marketplace Sellers.

Now, I've bought lots of stuff from them as well, and I've never had a
problem. But I check out their business and their feedback like I
would an eBay seller.

Reply to Anonymous
Tom's Guide > Forum > Digital Camera > Digital SLR > Amazon Prices?
Go to:

There are 9 identified and unidentified users. To see the list of identified users, Click here.

Please mind

You are about to answer a thread that has been inactive for more than 6 months.
If you still wish to proceed, please ensure that your posting is original and does not duplicate or overlap any prior responses to this thread.

Add a reply Cancel
Google ads