Tom's Guide Forums
  Tom's Guide Forums » Windows 2000/NT » Windows 2000/NT General Discussion » E-Mails from Cheap Software Supplier
 




Word :   Username :  
 
Bottom
Author
 Thread : E-Mails from Cheap Software Supplier
 
More Information

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.general (More info?)

 

Hi All,
I've been getting e-mails offering some M/S products at hard to resist
prices - from Downloadable Software.
They state that the reason it's so cheap is that you don't get original
disks or packaging, just a downloaded file.

Has anyone had any dealings with these people and are they genuine M/S
products ?

Any advice appreciated
TIA
Mark

Related Product

Register or log in to remove.

More Information

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.general (More info?)

 

Mark Griffiths wrote:
> Hi All,
> I've been getting e-mails offering some M/S products at hard to resist
> prices - from Downloadable Software.
> They state that the reason it's so cheap is that you don't get original
> disks or packaging, just a downloaded file.
>
> Has anyone had any dealings with these people and are they genuine M/S
> products ?
>
> Any advice appreciated
> TIA
> Mark
>
>

Hi Mark,

If I know what emails you're talking about, they're pretty much
uniformly scams. The best rule of thumb is don't trust anything being
offered by bulk email. 99% of "deals" will come back to haunt you.
Much of it is black-market or pirated software. You'll end up saving by
buying from reputable vendors.

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,
Benjamin Johnstone-Anderson
Microsoft MVP, Windows Security
Security Manifest - http://www.msmvps.com/trafton/

More Information

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.general (More info?)

 

Thanks for that - I thought as much, but wanted to check before doing
anything stupid!

Regards
Mark


"Trafton" <traftonSPAM@mvps.org> wrote in message
news:%23kpy5ehfFHA.3988@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Mark Griffiths wrote:
>> Hi All,
>> I've been getting e-mails offering some M/S products at hard to resist
>> prices - from Downloadable Software.
>> They state that the reason it's so cheap is that you don't get original
>> disks or packaging, just a downloaded file.
>>
>> Has anyone had any dealings with these people and are they genuine M/S
>> products ?
>>
>> Any advice appreciated
>> TIA
>> Mark
>
> Hi Mark,
>
> If I know what emails you're talking about, they're pretty much uniformly
> scams. The best rule of thumb is don't trust anything being offered by
> bulk email. 99% of "deals" will come back to haunt you. Much of it is
> black-market or pirated software. You'll end up saving by buying from
> reputable vendors.
>
> Hope this helps.
>
> Sincerely,
> Benjamin Johnstone-Anderson
> Microsoft MVP, Windows Security
> Security Manifest - http://www.msmvps.com/trafton/

More Information

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.general (More info?)

 

mobs like this ?

admin@logozine.com
del@logozine.com
admin@chcmodels.com.au
difiore@rslcom.net.au
webmaster@chcmodels.com.au
owner@chcmodels.com.au;
difiore@chcmodels.com.au
cupidsingles@dodo.com.au
sales@popularsoftware.biz
enquiries@popularsoftware.biz
carolyn@popularsoftware.biz
tmc56689@bigpond.net.au
vanessa@bestcds.biz
support@bestcds.biz
help@bestcds.biz
admin@bestcds.biz
accounts@dreamworks.com.au
sales@dreamworks.com.au
Contact@dreamworks.com.au
contact@inkconcepts.com
sales@inkconcepts.com
accounts@inkconcepts.com
sales@soft-cds.biz
accounts@soft-cds.biz
support@soft-cds.biz
a245_goawg@poppymail.com

they spam me as well

admin@logozine.com
del@logozine.com
admin@chcmodels.com.au
difiore@rslcom.net.au
webmaster@chcmodels.com.au
owner@chcmodels.com.au;
difiore@chcmodels.com.au
cupidsingles@dodo.com.au
sales@popularsoftware.biz
enquiries@popularsoftware.biz
carolyn@popularsoftware.biz
tmc56689@bigpond.net.au
vanessa@bestcds.biz
support@bestcds.biz
help@bestcds.biz
admin@bestcds.biz
accounts@dreamworks.com.au
sales@dreamworks.com.au
Contact@dreamworks.com.au
contact@inkconcepts.com
sales@inkconcepts.com
accounts@inkconcepts.com
sales@soft-cds.biz
accounts@soft-cds.biz
support@soft-cds.biz
a245_goawg@poppymail.com
"Mark Griffiths" <mark.griffiths687@ntlworld.com> wrote in
message news:MN6xe.14235$ZR1.10814@newsfe2-gui.ntli.net...
> Hi All,
> I've been getting e-mails offering some M/S products at
hard to resist
> prices - from Downloadable Software.
> They state that the reason it's so cheap is that you don't
get original
> disks or packaging, just a downloaded file.
>
> Has anyone had any dealings with these people and are they
genuine M/S
> products ?
>
> Any advice appreciated
> TIA
> Mark
>
>

More Information

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.general (More info?)

 

They are cheap because you don't get a license to use the software. So
to figure out what you actually bought, you receive nothing of value for
what you authorized payment, PLUS the unscrupulous person now has your
credit card details to do with as they wish.

Mark Griffiths wrote:

> Hi All,
> I've been getting e-mails offering some M/S products at hard to resist
> prices - from Downloadable Software.
> They state that the reason it's so cheap is that you don't get original
> disks or packaging, just a downloaded file.
>
> Has anyone had any dealings with these people and are they genuine M/S
> products ?
>
> Any advice appreciated
> TIA
> Mark
>
>

More Information

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.general (More info?)

 

"Geoffw" <geoffwinSPMA@gmail.SPMA.com> wrote in message
news:eaZaJiifFHA.1480@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> mobs like this ?
>
> admin@logozine.com
> del@logozine.com
> admin@chcmodels.com.au
> difiore@rslcom.net.au
> webmaster@chcmodels.com.au
> owner@chcmodels.com.au;
> difiore@chcmodels.com.au
> cupidsingles@dodo.com.au
> sales@popularsoftware.biz
> enquiries@popularsoftware.biz
> carolyn@popularsoftware.biz
> tmc56689@bigpond.net.au
> vanessa@bestcds.biz
> support@bestcds.biz
> help@bestcds.biz
> admin@bestcds.biz
> accounts@dreamworks.com.au
> sales@dreamworks.com.au
> Contact@dreamworks.com.au
> contact@inkconcepts.com
> sales@inkconcepts.com
> accounts@inkconcepts.com
> sales@soft-cds.biz
> accounts@soft-cds.biz
> support@soft-cds.biz
> a245_goawg@poppymail.com
>
> they spam me as well
>
> admin@logozine.com
> del@logozine.com
> admin@chcmodels.com.au
> difiore@rslcom.net.au
> webmaster@chcmodels.com.au
> owner@chcmodels.com.au;
> difiore@chcmodels.com.au
> cupidsingles@dodo.com.au
> sales@popularsoftware.biz
> enquiries@popularsoftware.biz
> carolyn@popularsoftware.biz
> tmc56689@bigpond.net.au
> vanessa@bestcds.biz
> support@bestcds.biz
> help@bestcds.biz
> admin@bestcds.biz
> accounts@dreamworks.com.au
> sales@dreamworks.com.au
> Contact@dreamworks.com.au
> contact@inkconcepts.com
> sales@inkconcepts.com
> accounts@inkconcepts.com
> sales@soft-cds.biz
> accounts@soft-cds.biz
> support@soft-cds.biz
> a245_goawg@poppymail.com
> "Mark Griffiths" <mark.griffiths687@ntlworld.com> wrote in
> message news:MN6xe.14235$ZR1.10814@newsfe2-gui.ntli.net...
> > Hi All,
> > I've been getting e-mails offering some M/S products at
> hard to resist
> > prices - from Downloadable Software.
> > They state that the reason it's so cheap is that you don't
> get original
> > disks or packaging, just a downloaded file.
> >
> > Has anyone had any dealings with these people and are they
> genuine M/S
> > products ?
> >
> > Any advice appreciated
> > TIA
> > Mark
> >
> >
>
>

More Information

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.win2000.general (More info?)

 

"Geoffw" <geoffwinSPMA@gmail.SPMA.com> wrote in message
news:eaZaJiifFHA.1480@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> mobs like this ?
>
> admin@logozine.com
> del@logozine.com
> admin@chcmodels.com.au
> difiore@rslcom.net.au
> webmaster@chcmodels.com.au
> owner@chcmodels.com.au;
> difiore@chcmodels.com.au
> cupidsingles@dodo.com.au
> sales@popularsoftware.biz
> enquiries@popularsoftware.biz
> carolyn@popularsoftware.biz
> tmc56689@bigpond.net.au
> vanessa@bestcds.biz
> support@bestcds.biz
> help@bestcds.biz
> admin@bestcds.biz
> accounts@dreamworks.com.au
> sales@dreamworks.com.au
> Contact@dreamworks.com.au
> contact@inkconcepts.com
> sales@inkconcepts.com
> accounts@inkconcepts.com
> sales@soft-cds.biz
> accounts@soft-cds.biz
> support@soft-cds.biz
> a245_goawg@poppymail.com
>
> they spam me as well
>
> admin@logozine.com
> del@logozine.com
> admin@chcmodels.com.au
> difiore@rslcom.net.au
> webmaster@chcmodels.com.au
> owner@chcmodels.com.au;
> difiore@chcmodels.com.au
> cupidsingles@dodo.com.au
> sales@popularsoftware.biz
> enquiries@popularsoftware.biz
> carolyn@popularsoftware.biz
> tmc56689@bigpond.net.au
> vanessa@bestcds.biz
> support@bestcds.biz
> help@bestcds.biz
> admin@bestcds.biz
> accounts@dreamworks.com.au
> sales@dreamworks.com.au
> Contact@dreamworks.com.au
> contact@inkconcepts.com
> sales@inkconcepts.com
> accounts@inkconcepts.com
> sales@soft-cds.biz
> accounts@soft-cds.biz
> support@soft-cds.biz
> a245_goawg@poppymail.com
> "Mark Griffiths" <mark.griffiths687@ntlworld.com> wrote in
> message news:MN6xe.14235$ZR1.10814@newsfe2-gui.ntli.net...
> > Hi All,
> > I've been getting e-mails offering some M/S products at
> hard to resist
> > prices - from Downloadable Software.
> > They state that the reason it's so cheap is that you don't
> get original
> > disks or packaging, just a downloaded file.
> >
> > Has anyone had any dealings with these people and are they
> genuine M/S
> > products ?
> >
> > Any advice appreciated
> > TIA
> > Mark
> >
> >
>
>


  Tom's Guide Forums » Windows 2000/NT » Windows 2000/NT General Discussion » E-Mails from Cheap Software Supplier

Go to:
 

Google ads