rfvvtwsruuerevwbf
Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Best DSLR Cameras 2015

Best DSLR Cameras 2015
By , Tom's Guide Staff

Digital single-lens reflex (DSLR) cameras are the most reliable and consistent shooters out there. Fast autofocus is a given, and large sensors ensure top-notch quality. The optical eyepiece is a must-have feature for many photographers who want to see exactly what the subject looks like, rather than previewing it on a screen.

Camera companies have been making DSLRs for nearly a generation, and their analog SLR predecessors for many generations before that. Thus, DSLRs have access to a vast selection of lenses, flashes and other accessories. As such an established technology, DSLRs can provide entry-level models that are generally cheaper than equivalent mirrorless or bridge camera options. DSLRs also offer the most powerful, dependable (and expensive) pro models that in some cases are literally battle-ready. In between is a wide selection of models for any budget or skill level.

MORE: DSLRs vs. Mirrorless Cameras: Which Is Better for You?

MORE: 100+ Great Gadget Gift Ideas

Latest Reviews

MORE: Canon Rebel T6s and T6i DSLRs Pack Faster Autofocus Tech for Video

Related Buying Guides:
Best Mirrorless Cameras
Best Bridge Cameras
Best Compact Cameras
Best Waterproof Cameras
Best Phone Cameras

Email David Elrich at david.elrich@live.com and follow him @davidelrich. Follow us @tomsguide and on Facebook.

More on Cameras
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Digital Cameras forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 19 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    jasonelmore , September 5, 2014 1:31 PM
    The D3300 has way better picture quality than the Canon T5i. The image quality difference is night and day.

    However the T5i has more options and settings to fiddle around with, the D3300 takes better pictures by far. Even better than the 70D.
  • 1 Hide
    marktax , September 9, 2014 8:52 PM
    Pentax slams both D3300 and T5i in their respective categories.
  • 0 Hide
    TwoDigital , October 21, 2014 10:33 AM
    If this article gets a "version 2.0" down the road, you may want to have 2 suggestions at each user level... with these DSLRs, users will be collecting lenses as they move from 'beginner' to 'intermediate', etc. If you suggest they buy a Nikon f-mount (D3300) as a beginner and then a Canon EF-S lens mount (T5i) you are ignoring a growing investment in lenses... Just something to keep in mind.
  • 0 Hide
    Colin Lee , October 21, 2014 10:41 AM
    Quote:
    If this article gets a "version 2.0" down the road, you may want to have 2 suggestions at each user level... with these DSLRs, users will be collecting lenses as they move from 'beginner' to 'intermediate', etc. If you suggest they buy a Nikon f-mount (D3300) as a beginner and then a Canon EF-S lens mount (T5i) you are ignoring a growing investment in lenses... Just something to keep in mind.


    Very true...
  • 0 Hide
    Kevin Cubas , November 7, 2014 10:47 AM
    the t5i is better than the nikon d5200? Please answer
  • 0 Hide
    pvjieshua , December 17, 2014 5:21 AM
    good,the T5i has more options and settings to fiddle around with, the D3300 takes better pictures by far. Even better than the 70D.
  • 0 Hide
    selina_miller , December 18, 2014 1:08 AM
    My fiancé is a photographer and in his point of view DSLR cameras offer interchangeable lenses for better magnification and better ISO ranges as well as fully adjustable focus. So if you are wildlife photographer then Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III is best for you and for beginner T5i or Nikon D3100 is better.
  • 1 Hide
    Mikhail Ratchkovski , January 2, 2015 10:11 PM
    It is not about the cameras, it is all about the lenses.
    Tread carefully on your first camera as it is a commitment to the lenses camp.
    The camera bodies will go as every couple of years the technology moves on but the lenses will stay and you will accumulate more lenses over the years.
  • 0 Hide
    Cindy Kern , January 25, 2015 11:00 PM
    Agree with Ratchkovski; Photographic imagining has always been about the quality of the optics; build your system around the very best lenses you can afford.
  • 0 Hide
    JamesScott86 , January 28, 2015 1:28 AM
    Before you make the plunge, read some reviews and take suggestions from the forum. Don't aim too low when choosing a camera. I've never heard anyone complaining that the camera they bought is too good.

    Don't rule out used and refurbished cameras from dealers and manufacturers.

    Camera Reviews

    http://www.photographytalk.com/compare-prices/camera-buying-guide

    http://www.dpreview.com

    http://www.snapsort.com

    http://www.whatdigitalcamera.com/equipment.html
  • 1 Hide
    Wacky_Tobaccy , March 4, 2015 5:03 PM
    The fact that Pentax isn't even on this list shows the Sam Rutherford is clueless.
  • 0 Hide
    thagishu tharau , March 26, 2015 10:52 PM
    What's the best beginners camera? Would really love to know. Thanks all.
  • 0 Hide
    HomeMarketer , March 29, 2015 11:32 AM
    I want the Canon EOS 70D so badly!
  • 0 Hide
    yespinal , April 6, 2015 7:45 AM
    Any suggestions for catching a toddler at play? I am looking for a camera that's has great quality pictures and is fast enough to catch my toddler since she only has a 2 second attention span.
  • 0 Hide
    Mitchell Robinson , April 8, 2015 5:37 AM
    Quote:
    Any suggestions for catching a toddler at play? I am looking for a camera that's has great quality pictures and is fast enough to catch my toddler since she only has a 2 second attention span.


    What you want here isn't any particular camera. As long has they have manual control what you want to look for is a camera with a high shutter speed. 1/800 or more

    Anywho, If it has to be a DSLR look for a lens with a zoom as this will help the most capturing no matter how far away you are from your little one(s). Some SLR's also have a higher fps when it come to stills also so maybe keep that in mind too if you want to be taking photos in burst.

    Hope this helped,

    - Mitch
  • 0 Hide
    andrewjohn1317 , April 14, 2015 2:57 AM
    Nikon D4 is the best DSLR camera for shot and shut your memorable moments
  • 0 Hide
    CY Lim , April 14, 2015 11:04 PM
    What abt the K-S2 (Pentax, of course)?
  • 0 Hide
    Sethu Swamy , May 25, 2015 11:24 PM
    <b> Bought D5300 in http://amzn.to/1cXmlZI from AMAZON with 40% discount last week!!!. I am much satisfied with the range and shutter speed. the best camera I have ever had and would suggest for every one. </b>
  • 0 Hide
    Ibrahim Beno , May 30, 2015 9:49 AM
    Very nice article, and as you said <it's hard to decide what is the best DSLR> especial if you are beginner to dslr photography, so i like the Nikon D3200 because it's cheap and made for absolute beginners as me, but i was confused with Nikon D5200, but in the end i buy Nikon D3200, this article help me a lot in making my decision http://goo.gl/3oOS7D
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter
  • add to twitter
  • add to facebook
  • ajouter un flux RSS