Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Samsung SyncMaster P2370HD

Monitor Roundup: 23"-25"
By
TV

The anti-TN brigade will be horrified, and for once, the felling is mutual. In general, you look straight at your computer monitor, which limits the problem of TN screens that dip to black when viewed from below.

Handling

Samsung's P2370HD is the combined television/ monitor version of the P2370.  Looking at both, it's difficult to distinguish them, especially from the front.  The external design of the two models is identical, with a bezel and cradle in glossy black plastic standing on a transparent stand.  

The differences are more obvious from the side, where the HD version is a few centimetres thicker, and at the back. 

While the P2370 only had a single DVI port, there's a whole collection of different inputs and outputs.  There are DVI, VGA and HDMI ports, component video and an HD TV tuner.  For sound, there's two 3 W speakers, a headphone out jack and an optical audio out.  In short, just about everything we can think of.


Gaming

Samsung has chosen a 5 ms TN panel for this screen.  First-person shooter games like Quake, Unreal or Call of Duty could prove difficult.  To be more precise, you might find it difficult to tolerate the blurry rendering of fast-moving objects.  However, it's responsive enough for other users, and office use, web browsing and non-FPS titles.



The input lag is under two framers per second, and will therefore go undetected during your multiplayer games.

Colors

When we tested the P2370, we gave Samsung the maximum score in this section, as its factory settings managed to combine accurate colors with a high contrast ratio.

The results here were a little less impressive, though.  With the average gap between the colors requested by the graphics card and those actually displayed on screen--the deltaE score--of 2.4, it still does pretty well.

If you're used to reading our tests, you'll know that's it generally thought that when deltaE is below 3.0, the discrepancies are only noticeable to those with a trained eye.  Even the very best monitors won't get it below 2.0

The contrast ratio is close to 990:1.  That's an excellent result when you remember that average screens rarely get above 750:1.

Films

Today, the big problem for computer monitors--even combined monitor/TVs like this--is video.  The upscaling is disastrous.  To help you understand exactly what that looks like, take any image on your computer, and zoom in.  You'll find it gradually gets more and more blurry.  The edges of people and objects are also problematic, producing small gradations known as the staircase effect.

Upscaling of a 575p source.  The results are relatively close to what we'd find on an average TV

We can't deny that Samsung has made progress with the P2370HD.  Although upscaling is still not as good as what a decent LCD television would do, it's a lot better than previous attempts.  The staircase effect has been largely reduced, and you can't see any problems from a distance of 1.5 m.  At that distance, you can enjoy an excellent quality image.

There's still a lot of work to do before monitors can rival TVs, but this is already an improvement on previous generations.

Samsung SyncMaster F2370HD
ProsCons
  • Lots of connectivity options
  • Accurate colors
  • High contrast ratio
  • HD TV tuner
  • TN panel, so poor vertical viewing angles
  • A VA panel would have been better for films

The P2370HD isn't perfect, but so far, it's the best monitor/television hybrid that we've tested.

Display all 14 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    Zoonie , December 2, 2009 12:49 AM
    This was a nice write-up, but I think a few more monitors in the test would add relevance to a comparison article.
  • 2 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , December 2, 2009 2:49 AM
    I agree with Zoonie. A few more monitors in the round-up would have been good. I do realise that Tom's Hardware is dominated by gamers but I would like to see reviews of monitors for professional digital imaging.
  • 0 Hide
    mohsh86 , December 2, 2009 4:37 AM
    i would like to see mine which is rare to review,

    The P2570 & P2570HD
  • 3 Hide
    tanderskey , December 2, 2009 5:05 AM
    I'll double he agreement and ask, when you review two samsungs and a single hannsg should that really be called a monitor round up of 23 - 25 inchers? I'd really expect to see at least a handful within low medium and high price points -- so 15 total. Otherwise maybe don't call it a "roundup" in the title or you risk disappointing your gentle readers.

    Also, whatever happened to monitors with built in USB ports. They're getting awfully hard to find but I certainly don't mind paying extra for extra convenient connectivity right up there on top of my desk.

  • 0 Hide
    Tomsguiderachel , December 2, 2009 6:22 PM
    For the record, we publish reviews of monitors as the review units come in to our reviewers. So, if you want more monitors in a round up we wouldn't be able to udpate you about products as early.
  • 0 Hide
    magius , December 2, 2009 7:43 PM
    You mention having seen PVA panels with just 0.5 frames of ghosting. Could you elaborate which models fit this description? I'm in the market for a new monitor and would love to get something with nice color accuracy while keeping ghosting to a bare minimum.
  • 2 Hide
    Zoonie , December 2, 2009 10:39 PM
    TomsguiderachelFor the record, we publish reviews of monitors as the review units come in to our reviewers. So, if you want more monitors in a round up we wouldn't be able to udpate you about products as early.Rachel


    Rachel,
    How about having one article with all monitors, and then update it with the new products whenever they come in? You could make a whole new article every year or 6 months, but during that time just keep updating the article with new products.
  • 2 Hide
    kittle , December 3, 2009 6:59 PM
    more monitors would be better - but also please list the SAME technical detials for all the monitors.
    Size?
    response time? (even though you dont think it matters)
    native resolution? -- i only saw resolution numbers for 1 monitor.
    results of your tests? -- only 1 review had the contrast ratio graphic.
  • 2 Hide
    tjaisv , December 4, 2009 4:40 AM
    I agree that this roundup definitely needs more monitors in it. This is a major review site and as such we would expect more inclusive reviews. Not to depreciate the quality of this roundup though, it's very well presented, it just needs more content ie more monitors presented.
  • 0 Hide
    americanbrian , December 4, 2009 9:32 PM
    I think you should do a round up of monitors with displayport inputs. What with everyone and their uncle buying the eyefinity GPU's from AMD we need to know which ones are a good deal for a tri screen setup
  • 0 Hide
    overshocks2 , December 13, 2009 1:55 AM
    whats the graph on page 2 suppose to mean with the faces..i don't get it
  • 0 Hide
    overshocks2 , December 13, 2009 2:03 AM
    You guys contradicted yourselves?

    "Samsung has chosen a 5 ms TN panel for this screen. First-person shooter games like Quake, Unreal or Call of Duty could prove difficult. To be more precise, you might find it difficult to tolerate the blurry rendering of fast-moving objects. However, it's responsive enough for other users, and office use, web browsing and non-FPS titles.


    The input lag is under two framers per second, and will therefore go undetected during your multiplayer games."

    First, you said it's not good for FPS, then you said it's okay..
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , December 25, 2009 2:10 PM
    hello everyone

    does anybody know what is the usb port (called "service") for?
  • 0 Hide
    RWRamo , March 18, 2010 5:05 PM
    Thanks for the article. I will be needing some good to know facts to be good to go in the near future on monitor replacements. Interesting Tip regarding the 2380 vs 2380M from Samsung. As someone previously stated it would be nice to have more cards in the hand. But, it is also relevant that it is better to have the information on some available immediately.

    Personally I have been burned equipment in the past. Simple enough to quietly shuffle the crap off to sections out of sight out of mind until depreciated out of relevancy off the fixture tables.

    Per the manufacturers that do not submit their products for reviews? Keep them on the shelf. If I cannot quickly find a trustworthy thumb up or down article I just do not consider them anymore.
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter