Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Trend Micro PC-Cillin Internet Security Pro 2009: A Reasonable Option

2009 Anti-Virus Roundup
By

After we were disappointed last year by the Trend brand because of the high price of its software that did not correspond to the quality we expected, we saw that the developers rectified this problem with the release of the 2009 version.

A Beautiful
Interface… With Settings That Could Use Some Improvement

The aesthetics of this software’s interface are a real delight. Somber without being sad, the graphics here are particularly well done and access to the functions is clear and easy. The default settings are fine, but the absence of advanced, personalized settings may be a big handicap for advanced users.

This interface is very well done in both conception and practice. We also appreciated the possibility of being able to password protect our settings. Fortunately, the anti-virus software that comes with this pretty package is also very complete.

Undeniable Effectiveness

If you look at the difference between this year's and last year’s offering from Trend, one blatant improvement comes in the form of a very good-quality detection engine. On the other hand, once the threats have been identified, getting rid of them must be done manually after they have been contained in compressed files. This isn’t exactly the best way of going about it, but it’s not the end of the world, either. The resident protection is also quite good and uses the detection motor to the best of its abilities.

Indeed, in spite of the absence of an automatic scan and the detection of threats during the reading of files (not when folders are opened), the protection is effective against viruses that come from USB-connected and other external-storage devices. The neutralization procedure for contaminated email attachments allows them to be deleted while still leaving the email itself accessible.


Not Too Demanding On Your Computer

Despite a significant increase in time for Windows to start up (+69%) and a very long wait for the scan to finish (the longest that we found during our paid-for software test), Trend PC-Cillin affects relatively little on the rest of the system. Although the memory is incontestably used, it is consumed at a reasonable rate. Additionally, only one of the two cores of our processor was used, leaving the other available for the eventual utilization of other light programs at the same time.

Conclusion


Efficient, financially affordable, and pretty light on power, the Trend PC-Cillin 2009 should be very seriously considered. However, if you have a new computer with a processor that isn’t very powerful and you don’t want to compromise its safety without having to personalize a bunch of advanced settings, then this software should definitely be approached with caution.

Display all 65 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    shurcooL , May 21, 2009 9:58 PM
    And here I thought AVG Free was the best free antivirus.
  • -1 Hide
    Doctor Rob , May 21, 2009 10:30 PM
    Kaspersky internet security/ anti-virus does not look like that.. what the heck
  • -5 Hide
    Shadow703793 , May 21, 2009 10:46 PM
    No NOD32?
  • -2 Hide
    spydeyrch , May 21, 2009 10:56 PM
    What about Microsoft's own Oncecare
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 21, 2009 11:14 PM
    These guys sound like they don't know what they are talking about. They claimed that Avast skips text files even though "they are a classic refuge for malevolent programs." Text files cannot be executed and therefore cannot contain viruses. The pictures they have are different as well. In any case I am a happy user of Avast and prefer it to McAfee and Norton but have not tried the others.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , May 21, 2009 11:35 PM
    the picture they use for Avast is with a different skin. You can switch the skin at anytime.
    I m using avast home too. I think the scanning for HD is bit longer and taxing a lot on my P4 2.6. But its free..no complain...
  • -4 Hide
    romain_75 , May 21, 2009 11:37 PM
    what about Kespersky ??? lol so much missing good antivirus software
  • -1 Hide
    IzzyCraft , May 21, 2009 11:42 PM
    Spanish Kespersky = norman?
  • -1 Hide
    IzzyCraft , May 21, 2009 11:43 PM
    French... T_T?? not english there we go
  • -5 Hide
    Ciuy , May 21, 2009 11:57 PM
    KASPERSKY Ftw ...
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 1:37 AM
    what I used to like on Tom's site was the use of graphs... can't find any in this round up. More over how the can you judge resident scan performance just on start up time? What about disk R/W after all services have been initialized?
    Anyway quite poor article
  • 3 Hide
    Twoboxer , May 22, 2009 4:28 AM
    I use Norton NIS 2009, and have had problems that made me look for another. When I saw this article, I said "Great timing lol !"

    Unfortunately, there is nothing in this article that inspires confidence in either the comparisons or the conclusions. There are comments about Norton that my personal experiences tell me are incorrect (at least in the US).

    And, as said before, no tables, etc.

    Very disappointing.
  • 0 Hide
    goose man , May 22, 2009 6:05 AM
    @Shadow703793: NOD32 is in page 14
    http://www.tomsguide.com/us/2009-antivirus-test,review-1315-14.html

    @romain_75: Kaspersky in page 15
    http://www.tomsguide.com/us/2009-antivirus-test,review-1315-15.html

    @shurcooL: So do I, use AVG for last 3 years thinking it was best one.
    May be good time for change ...
  • -4 Hide
    dandy , May 22, 2009 6:17 AM
    eset smart security 4!!!and zone alarm extreme security 8
  • 6 Hide
    lumpoco , May 22, 2009 7:31 AM
    I'm very surprised to hear that Norton is not a resource hog. It is the reason I switched to free AV software like Avast and AVG. I'm not going back to Norton even if they paid me...OK I might consider it.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 7:39 AM
    Why do you have pictures of Kaspersky on the page with AVG antivirus?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 7:52 AM
    haha kapersky became norman.. avg became kepersky.. lol
  • 5 Hide
    falchard , May 22, 2009 12:58 PM
    Was this review bought or something? For Norton to get such a good review I am leaning towards it being bought. I mean c'mon, Norton not being a resource hog and stealing your system. How do you expect us to believe that?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 3:06 PM
    Why not review Kaspersky Internet Security, instead of just the Antivirus, when the Internet Security package for other brands were reviewed?

    Also, The KAV Internest Securitiy is $54.99 at Walmart. The review stated it was double.

    I seriously have my doubts and found myself shaking my head after reading the reviews for several of the products in here.
  • 1 Hide
    bigbadbrad , May 22, 2009 3:37 PM
    I'm surprised you didn't give a "Best Value" award... I'd say for best value go with Trend Micro, for less than $20 you can get protection for 3 PCs for one year (Look online you will find it). I use it on all my computers and no complaints.
Display more comments
Tom’s guide in the world
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • UK
Follow Tom’s guide
Subscribe to our newsletter