HOW TO TRANSFER PICS FROM DE-ACTIVATED CELL PHONE ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

richbob13

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2011
Hello,
I found my old de-activated cell phone, still takes a charge and powers up, so I can look at the pics on it.I'm hoping to find a way to transfer pics to a PC some how, but I'm not tech savvy. The phone is a Sony-Ericsson Z500a, and was through Cingular. It has a Gemplus 64K smartchip simcard (de-activated of course) but I guess the pics are stored in the memory of the phone itself.Any help in this would make you my hero!
Thanks, Rich in Iowa.

SO long as the phone turns on, you should be able to get the pics and whatever else you want off of it. If it has a mini USB port on it you can take a look around for a cord or just buy one for a few bucks so you can rig it to your PC. From there the PC should see it as a storage device of sorts and you should be able to browse/retrieve all of the photos.

richbob13

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2011

Hi, and thanks for the message and suggestions.
I actually did get a cord (as you mentioned) a while back that connects the cell to the usb port on the pc, but nothing happens when they're hooked up... I expected a window with options to open up or something. I've looked up help topics, etc., concerning AutoPlay settings, and tinkering with the "Import Pictures and Videos" dialog box, but nothing will even acknowledge that there is a device (the cell) hooked up to the pc.
We live in rural Iowa (moved here from Oregon 3+ years ago, talk about culture shock), so I may just end up venturing to an AT+T store in Des Moines with the cell and cord and all that and see if there's something they can do.
Appreciate the help, and if you think of somrthing else I can try, please let me know!

All the best, Rich.

Richard_nixon

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2010