Advice Needed on New/Different Amplifier for OLD Bose 201 Series III Speakers

backwoodscritter

Prominent
Dec 16, 2017
(This is my first time asking for advice here on Tom's Guide - I hope the info here makes some sense!)

After having to discard an equally old and malfunctioning Sony STR-DE825 Receiver Amplifier, I am forced to find another amplifier.

The Bose 201 Series III speakers (one pair) are still in great shape after all these years, so I'd like to hook them up to a Receiver Amplifier that will breathe new life into them for a very loosely termed "home theater" I'm setting up in my 16' x 18' living room. I listen to all sorts of music genres, so I do appreciate decent sound. I do plan to eventually add a second pair of speakers -- not Bose -- but I'll seek advice on that later on.

Budget is always a looming concern unfortunately, so the goal is to get as much bang-for-the-buck as possible. My wishlist includes separate controls for bass and treble and perhaps a bass booster control as well.

What qualities should I look for? Are there any brands out there to avoid? Is a Bluetooth unit advisable or necessary?

Thank so much for any advice you all can offer - it's wearing me out googling this stuff!

Your Bose neither require or can handle a great deal of power so you don't need that much. They also have very limited potential for great sound so you choice of receiver will depend on what speakers you want to get later, If you want to use them as rears and add new speakers for the front that would make sense. The problem is that surround sound receiver don't usually have tone controls.