Blake_40

Prominent
Feb 18, 2017
i just bought an ssd for my computer and i cloned my hard drive to the ssd, itll show up in my boot menu as a bootable item but if i dont have the hdd externally connected it wont boot even though its been cloned.. i dont know what to do here im not very good at the technical part of computers can anyone help.

USAFRet

Illustrious

You almost certainly did the cloning thing incorrectly.

Assuming the system actually still runs from the HDD and only the HDD, redo the clone operation.
These steps, in order:
-----------------------------
Verify the actual used space on the current drive is significantly below the size of the new SSD
Download and install Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration, if a Samsung SSD)
Power off
Disconnect ALL drives except the current C and the new SSD
Power up
Run the Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration)
Select ALL the partitions on the existing C drive
Click the 'Clone' button
Wait until it is done
When it finishes, power off
Disconnect ALL drives except for the new SSD
Swap the SATA cables around so that the new drive is connected to the same SATA port as the old drive
Power up, and verify the BIOS boot order
If good, continue the power up

It should boot from the new drive, just like the old drive.
Maybe reboot a time or two, just to make sure.

If it works, and it should, all is good.

Later, reconnect the old drive and wipe as necessary.
Delete the original boot partitions, here:
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windows/en-US/4f1b84ac-b193-40e3-943a-f45d52e23685/cant-delete-extra-healthy-recovery-partitions-and-healthy-efi-system-partition?forum=w8itproinstall
-----------------------------

Blake_40

Prominent
Feb 18, 2017

i tried macrium and it said it cant connect to there servers. i used easeUS to clone the device.

Blake_40

Prominent
Feb 18, 2017