Narrowed down to 3 laptops - can't decide

Sarramy

Estimable
Sep 15, 2015
HI all, this is my first time posting here... hello! I've seen several threads like this so I hope it's okay to post one more.

Later this week I am going to be buying a new laptop and I'm trying to decide on which one specifically. Currently I've narrowed down my choices to three, but now I'm at a loss. I do computer gaming as well as graphic design and 3D modeling so I need something that can handle all of that (not all at the same time, I don't have multiple thousands of dollars to invest :lol:). Basically I'm looking for something that can play WoW and FFXIV on highest graphic settings, as well as easily run Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign (all run at the same time), and also work well with Blender, Autodesk Maya, and 3dsmax.

Here are my current choices:
MSI GE Series GE72 Apache Pro-077
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834152817

MSI GE Series GE72 Apache Pro-242
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834152928

MSI GS Series GS70 Stealth Pro-097
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834152682

Thanks for your thoughts and help. :)

raisonjohn

Estimable
Herald
Feb 22, 2015
Ok, here are my thoughts.... I'll try to slice up all the information so we can arrive at a simpler question on which one to really pick among these 3 laptops you are having trouble choosing. Here goes:

Based on your needs (and not your wants), the primary deciding point among the 3 laptops you are considering is that you are better off with choosing the one with the highest CPU core clock and RAM capacity/speeds and faster/larger storage capacity (multi-tasking and rendering/editing).

Among the 3 choices, both the Apache Pro-077 and the Apache Pro-242 have 2.70GHz 5th-gen i7 and 16GB RAM, while the Stealth only has a 2.50GHz 4th-gen i7 and same 16GB RAM.