Buying new laptop: 8GB hybrid SSD or a better processor?

snowathlete

Estimable
Jun 2, 2015
Similar specs and same price, but the Lenovo has a small 8GB SSD in addition to the HDD which should boost startup and launches, whereas the Dell does not but has a better processor.

Here is the Lenovo: http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/lapto...g70-17-3-laptop-black-10105268-pdt.html#cat-0

and here is the Dell:
http://www.dell.com/uk/p/inspiron-17-5749-laptop/pd?oc=cn74911&model_id=inspiron-17-5749-laptop

I think I'd get on with the touchpad buttons on the lenovo better than the inbuild ones in the Dell. Also the lenovo looks like it has a slightly better keyboard. I am a writer, so that is important, but to be honest I'd probably get on fine with either. The lenovo appears to have slightly better sound than the Dell too. The Dell looks more robust, perhaps. The obvious strength of the Dell though is that has more processing power.

I'll be writing, in Word. But I'll also be streaming media and browing with lots of tabs open and a lot of multitasking. But not much graphics, programing, gaming, or audio work.

Would appreciate hearing people's views on what is the better option.

Hello snowathlete

Since you are planning to do a lot of multitasking and opening multiple tabs, getting a laptop with better processing would be more appropriate.

Also, since keyboard and sound quality (which of course would not be 'bad') would not be of much concern to you, choosing Dell would be wise.

Hope this helps. Good Luck!!

snowathlete

Estimable
Jun 2, 2015