Sound Card/Headphone dilemma

ejohnsson

Estimable
May 28, 2014
Hi, I was looking at headphones to go with the Xonar Essence STX I've been planning to buy, but I noticed that so many gaming headphones (like Astro) are usb connected. I'm not an expert, but I'm pretty sure that means the audio will not pass through the sound card at all, and go straight to the usb, leaving the sound card useless.

So I guess this is my question: Are there any headphones that are great for gaming AND music, that use analog? And do usb connected headphones sound distinctively worse than analog? I don't mind using pure usb headphones as long as they sound okay.

I am currently using some old Turtle Beach PX21's, which have a usb for power and analog for audio. Works well on my PS4, but a little weird on my PC.

Side question: my monitor has a 3.5mm jack on it. Where does it get its audio? From the sound card or somewhere else?

As I said, I'm not an expert. Any response would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

ejohnsson

Estimable
May 28, 2014
My budget is around $250, but if I don't get the Xonar I'm willing to spend more. I edit music and game for fun, so I want something to handle both. How much can I get for $250?

for that kind of budget you may want to look into some studio headphones.

you might want to google "tomshardware ssddx headphone headset" to pull up some other recent threads i've posted in. lots of good info.

also, its not done yet but i've begun to work on a headphone guide (link in signature). right now it shows you photos of the different types, has some terminology and has a nice section on microphones. thats about it so far.. i havent gotten into detailed products for it yet.

for that budget i'd say....

ath-m50s - cheap, great bass, decent clarity and fair highs, closed design (i own this one). small soundstage since its closed, not as clear as some.
dt770pro - better soundstage than the m50s but more costly. the 80ohm version has some decent bass like the m50s.