Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 can't find wifi when only a few feet away from router

Claymoresama

Honorable
May 3, 2013
I have noticed that starting this morning my tablet cannot see my network in my room which is not that far from the router. At first I thought it was some apps that I installed yesterday so I uninstalled them all and made sure that wifi was on and not airplane mode. When I go into the room where the router is I can get the connection, but as I walk down the hall the signal deteriorates to nothing. Now I tested my samsung laptop and it could connect and see the networks just fine. No I do not have broadcasting turned off. I'll test it on some public networks like my colleges' and at Target. Please help me I just got this tablet and I'm totally new to Android.

Solution
try restarting your tablet then try getting onto your wifi.
If that still does not work, try restore to factory settings on your tablet (it will wipe all all your stuff, so backup before you do this).

friedricezilla

Honorable
Jan 17, 2014
try restarting your tablet then try getting onto your wifi.
If that still does not work, try restore to factory settings on your tablet (it will wipe all all your stuff, so backup before you do this).

Solution

Claymoresama

Honorable
May 3, 2013

It still had this issue even after restoring it to factory settings. For some reason when I'm in my living room near the router (which isn't that far away from my room) I get a connection. Although the connection is weak, now my other devices are picking up a strong signal and when I was out today I was just fine. I'll keep on messing with it, but maybe it's my router.

Brightblade

Estimable
Jun 8, 2014