Sony TV and Onkyo Receiver ARC

wmh408

Honorable
Aug 30, 2013
Hi guys,

I'm new to AV receiver and just bought a TX-NR 626. Been trying to set it up through ARC (Audio Receiver Channel) with HDMI to a Sony TV for awhile now.

So here's my set up:
I have a XBOX, and a TV set box, both of them are connected to my TV through HDMI cables.
I hooked the receiver to TV with another HDMI, goes into HDMI port 1 on my TV where it says ARC, and it also goes into the ARC port on the receiver.
My Bose speakers are connected into the receiver, as well as 2 Boston speakers in my kitchen as Zone 2. When I control the receiver with my iPhone, both zones worked well, so this is not a speaker issue.

The Sony TV supports ARC for sure, I switched the speaker to Sound System instead of TV speaker, and turned on HDMI in Control feature.

On the speaker, HDMI CEC (RIHD) is on, and Audio Return Channel is set to Auto. The input has been selected as TV (which will automatically switch to ARC, according to the Manuel)

However, there's no sound at all. The ARC indicator light on the receiver's front panel is never on. I went into the TV's HDMI settings, and it detects no HDMI device.

I have no idea why it happens. I don't really want to connect all my devices through the receiver to my TV, so I thought a simple HDMI cable with the ARC feature will let the TV to send all audios to the receiver.

Also, could I be missing a cable? WIth ARC, are we required to hook up another optical audio cable?

I think that the ARC is only to send the audio from internal TV sources such as broadcast and internet to your receiver without the need for an additional cable. Just connect all you sources to the receiver. If you want to use a source without receiver check if the receiver has a pass through for one of the HDMI inputs (usually TV) so you can turn the receiver off and still get picture and sound to the TV.