Did I actually unlock L3 on Athlon ii X4 630?

iMammoth

Honorable
Dec 26, 2012
I'm pretty new at the whole CPU business.
About a month or two ago I got into it OCing my 630.
I have it @ a stable 3.5GHz (i think).
But, I have a question.
In my MSI BIOS I enabled unlock CPU cores and turn ACC to auto.
When I booted up and pulled up CPU-Z it now shows an L3, did I actually enable this or am I delusional? haha!
Thanks in advance for any help!
07vk.png
[/URL]

Solution
I would have to say, yes. It must be fooling them both, because it is either a Phenom II X4 with core and L3 disabled (Deneb), or an Athlon II X4 with core disabled (Propus). The Propus die was never built with an L3 cache to the best of my knowledge. You could contact AMD with the info and see what they say, but I doubt you have a L3 cache... or you don't have a Propus.

Next time you are changing the thermal paste, look at the markings on the CPU's heat spreader. That will tell you for sure what you have.

clutchc

Distinguished
According to CPU-Z, you did. But I doubt it is reading correctly. It also says the processor is a Propus. The Propus has a disabled core but no L3 cache. It is simply an X4 Athlon II with one core disabled. The Deneb X3's have the 4th core AND L3 cache available, because they are based on Phenom II's not Athlon II's.
http://www.cpu-world.com/info/AMD/Unlocking_cores_and_L3.html

I would say that the unlocking has confused CPU-Z. Either it is mis-reading the L3 cache or the 'Propus'. As the chart in CPU World shows, if your processor ends in "AC" it is a Deneb w/cache and core. If it ends in "AD" it is a Propus w/core only.

iMammoth

Honorable
Dec 26, 2012

I also downloaded Sandra Lite 2013 from SiSoftware and it says that I have an L3 cache as well. Could it be confusing CPU-Z and Sandra??? Thanks for your response btw. I accidentally opened two of the same threads, the other thread has the two pictures. You're always helpful!

clutchc

Distinguished