Recommend a Quality Laptop

cbenitez

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009
I've read a couple of threads already and none of the other recommended laptops seem to be what i am looking for. I do not have a lot of experience with laptops. So i wanted to come here and ask for a recommendation for a quality durable laptop.

I will use this laptop for 3 things mainly:
- Programming (College Projects): So i would like for it to have a good CPU.
- Light Gaming: Mostly Indie Games and maybe DOTA(Optional): SO i would like it to have at least a graphics card.
- Watch Movies: So i would like it to at least be able to output 720p(1080p would be great)

I've searched and found some computers that seem to be good. But i'm here because i would like recommendations as to what brand of computer to buy or maybe if you guys know of a particularly good offer.

I've had some bad experiences with Gateway and HP and I've heard Accer is a good brand for cheap and durable laptops. So even if you don't know of any specific computer that serves my purpose can you please recommend which brand of computer you think it's best?

dark ariel7

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2011
If price is not much o an issue a Sonny Vaio would serve your purpose fine. Mine is 800 dollars before taxes and it can do everything you listed except perhaps play the games. If they are less graphics heavy than either diablo or world of war craft than yes it can. There is however a trade off I only get around 4 hours of battery on web browsing. If you are interested mine is an i7 touch screen. Oh yeah the screen is also full HD. 1080

cbenitez

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009
I forgot to add my price. 500 to 800 is the price i'm looking for. So that one is walking the line already. I don't need it to be a touch screen, i won't use that for anything.