Gaming laptop, advice required.

Estbarul

Distinguished
May 5, 2011
Hello, I'm sick of my HP g6 with a Radeon 6470m card, it overgheats a lot, sometimes even shuts down by itself, the drivers won't update accordingly and I've had a LOT of problems, don't want HP again and I want a new gaming laptop, no something high end, just enough to play today's newest games in med to high res. I do some programming, not much, and also use Matlab, CAD, Orcad, Tina, Solidworks, etc, since I'm studying electrical engineer, I'm finishing it.

I've searched a bit and found that the best deal for me at the moment is the Y500 with Nvidia 650 SLI graphics and a i7 CPU, but a lot of people have encountered problems with the laptop, and since I'm not from US I'm buying the laptop in a trip, I can't return the laptop whenever it's got a problem, so I'm trying to buy something as reliable as possible and forum topics about the y500 scared me a little bit, so my question is if you guys think Lenovo will replace faulty units with good ones in a month or so? So I can wait some time before they correct their y500 production line? Or maybe is there going to be in a month or so a new laptop out that can match those y500 potential by another brand with a similiar price/performance ratio?

I need an advice, maybe if you know some laptop I don't you can recommend me one, I'm filling this form anyway.

Thanks in advance!

1. What is your budget?

Something Around $1000

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

15", no bigger nor smaller.

3. What screen resolution do you want?

I'm ok with my current 1366x768, but a 1080p would be nice.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

I'm going to need a desktop replacement laptop, don't care if it's heavy.

5. How much battery life do you need?

I'm not really going to take it off the charger much, so battery life is not important.