Looking for a Laptop/Notebook. Need help!

Ellie-fied

Honorable
Feb 18, 2013
Hi, I'm looking for a new laptop/notebook. I'm a college student (so something portable from class to class), I do a lot of photography, Photoshopping, and gaming (skyrim would be nice on the PC :) ). My budget is $700 and I'd like something from 15-16inches. I'm not expecting some jaw-dropping laptop (Though brushed metal look would be awesome) but I would like something with a good CPU and dedicated graphics. I've looked at newegg, bestbuy, and some reviews on PCworld. I've just looked at so many laptops and I can't decide. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks in advance!
-E

supervai

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012
i guess one of the best ways is to go to a laptop shop and check out the models that you have in mind and bring a friend along and get some of his opinion too.

Ellie-fied

Honorable
Feb 18, 2013

Lady_Grace

Honorable
Feb 18, 2013
Well, the CPU is the same on both models, so it really boils down to this: Do you want a dedicated GPU or not? And how much do you want to pay for it?
The HD4000 integrated in the i5 can handle older games and newer stuff at low settings and resolutions, I guess it would Skyrim, but badly.
Check for other features you like, perhaps a good touchpad (Asus has bad pads usually), Windows 7/8, HDD size... Don't underestimate the power of your touchpad, you'l use it a lot.

Ellie-fied

Honorable
Feb 18, 2013
Yeah, I read in the reviews about the ASUS that the touch pad was kind of weird. I think I might go with the Acer Aspire. It has the dedicated GPU and it can hand skyrim on low/med settings, it got really great reviews. I'm probably gonna head out to the local bestbuy or somewhere so I can see if they have maybe a base model in stock so I can see how the body of the laptop is.

lgt6238

Honorable
Mar 6, 2013