HP Pavilion G6-1024sa - Fan Issue

nexmorbus

Honorable
Feb 12, 2013
Hey folks. I'm an L2 IT Engineer myself but for the life of me can't find a solution to this issue. My laptops fan is at a constant 100%. It's driving me nuts. When I bought it, it was fine, as soon as the warranty expires..? Boom. Fan @ 100% constantly. Now I've managed to narrow down the cause to what can only be a faulty temperature sensor. The laptop itself is not overheating whatsoever, I've tested this by ceasing the fans movement manually for a period of time while idle, it gets warm, almost hot, but no more. There's nothing wrong with the fan itself.

Now the problem is, I'm usually a desktop/server user and I love having full control over the fans, regardless, however I -cannot- find any fan control software for this laptop. I assume this is due to there being no manual fan settings within the BIOS and no manual fan controller, it must be controlled by the temperature sensor only (or possibly tied into the AMD APU's frequency?).

So my question is, is there some way of modifying the BIOS to tie the fanspeed in to -another- temperature sensor on the motherboard (if there's more than one) or to cause it to only spin up when the APU pops heavy usage? I'm not very experienced with modifying BIOS', I've done it twice before but used tools both times, first was a regular BIOS that couldn't recognise 4+ cores, second was an XFX Radeon HD 5770 BIOS that kept using "green energy saving" voltage regulation that was bugged and dropped it so low it crashed.

Any advice would be helpful.

Kind Regards,
Marc

Hi :)

I own a lappy repair company...

Most people want to do precisely the opposite to you...

Because of overheating they WANT to make the fan run at 100% all the time...

Are you POSITIVE its not overheating ?

You did recement the cpu etc ?

All the best Brett :)

nexmorbus

Honorable
Feb 12, 2013
Hi Brett,