Microsoft Surface, Samsung ultrabook, or something else?

Evire

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
Hi guys.

I am a student and use a PC in every class all the time. Since the laptops is getting rather old, I want to get something new. So I was thinking about a windows 8 tablet or an ultrabook. So far I have looked at

Microsoft surface: http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Surface-Windows-Tablet-only/dp/B009XKJ4H8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352857010&sr=8-1&keywords=surface

Samsung - Touch-Screen Ultrabook 13.3: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Samsung+-+Touch-Screen+Ultrabook+13.3%22+Laptop+-+500GB+HDD+%2B+24GB+ExpressCache+-+Silver/6774611.p?id=1218806579532&skuId=6774611&ky=2oh0NrwOl4j1qjMx3Oy2gXfVGhMUl0WiJ&ci_src=5784816&ci_sku=6774611&ref=25&loc=PGR

Are there any other tablets or ultrabooks that I should look into? The only thing keeping me away from getting the Surface is that it is Windows 8 RT. And I want full compatibility with all windows programs. My budget is $1000

Thanks

maestro0428

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2009
I would go with a laptop still these days because the inputs on tablets just aren't there yet. There are tons of good ones out there, especially in your price range. What will you do with it? If you are mostly doing notes and research, you could probably spend a lot less and still get everything you need.

edogawa

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2012
The ultra book is obviously the best choice, you're not gaming on it, it can run stuff for school on it and carry it around very easily; RT won't run very many things too.

I think the Samsung ultra book is a good choice, but you should evaluate your choices on what it will be for though; you can get away with lower if it's only for school work. If you want to watch a movie\clip, listen to music, or browse the internet, while away from the desktop, a light device with good battery life will be a good choice too.