Software development laptop workstation recommendation

seanare

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012
1. What is your budget?

AU$3000 to AU$4000

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

14"; though will compromise up to 15.6"

3. What screen resolution do you want?

1600x1000, though would compromise to 1600x900
Expect higher on larger screen, i.e. 1920x1080 on 15.6 (again, would prefer 16:10, but realise this doesn't seem an option).

Lower resolutions limit the effective screen code real-estate, higher resolutions don't seem to give a return.

Must be a matte screen.

I'm not a graphic artist (i.e. not concerned with colour reproduction), but saw a Samsung Series 9 (13.3") and the screen was very nice, and I would be willing to pay a premium for that viewing experience.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

More towards the desktop replacement, but preferring a 14" due to portability - both in terms of weight and ease of use on cramped bus seats. Thus bigger screens in smaller footprints are attractive.

My laptop that just died was a 13.3" 1280x800 Asus R1E which felt slightly cramped for desktop real-estate. Prior to that I had a Dell Inspiron 15", which seemed a bit larger than ideal outside the office.

5. How much battery life do you need?

3 hours of real use would be nice.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop?

No.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)

Software development, including leveraging virtual machines. Seeking performance in build/test and run local app servers and databases to support development activities.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?

~120GB SSD (mSATA..?)
500GB+ data drive (I have a hybrid from my existing laptop that I would like to reuse)

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.