College gaming laptop recommendation?

kyled321

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012
Hello good people, new member here looking for some seasoned advice on a laptop purchase.

I've owned an HP dv6700 for over 4 years now (which has been great), but I'm about ready for an upgrade before college. Two examples of possibilities are below the FAQ:

1. What is your budget?
Trying to keep it under $1000, I'm a student so I can't break the bank. I'm looking for deals.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
15.6 ideally, possibly 14.

3. What screen resolution do you want?
1080 HD

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
Less than 7 pounds is perfect, I will most likely be taking notes with it.

5. How much battery life do you need?
No requirement, less than 4 hours is fine.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
I do, and I'm looking forward to Far Cry 3 at high resolution. I also want this to last me another 4-5 years and be able to play more coming games at good resolution. Any card better than a GeForce 640m is ideal.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
Good speakers are a plus, but I don't do serious video or photo editing.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
No requirement, 500gb at 7200rpm is fine.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
n/a

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?
4-5 years, through college.

11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ?
no requirement.

12. Please tell us about the brands that you prefer to buy from them and the brands that you don't like and explain the reasons.
Not much experience here, brand suggestions welcome.

13. What country do you live in?
USA (I'll be in NJ next year).