No network connection

majorchillzone

Honorable
Jul 7, 2012
My Samsung NB30 netbook will not recognize any networks. I turned it on and it will not recognize mine, or the one next door. It says that there are none, when I'm currently on another laptop using it. I've read though some other questions, and tried to delete the current network, but anything to do with the connection or network does not show up, at all. I'm not good with things like this at all, so any help would be much appreciated. I'm not sure what other information is needed, so please let me know if there's more I can add.

Welcome to Tom's Hardware Forums,
I don't know that this'll work on Win7 Starter but I think it's worth a try. Go into:
Control Panel>> System>> Device Manager>> Network Adapters
If your hardware shows up there, right click and enable. If it is already enabled, try a driver update.
If there is no hardware listed there, right click and look for an option to show hidden (or disabled) hardware. Then enable it.
Also, if it has been roughly handled or dropped, it is possible that your wireless antenna or the card itself has become disconnected.

majorchillzone

Honorable
Jul 7, 2012

Thanks for the answer! I tried the Device Manager and was able to update half of them, the other half said that they could not be updated, as the hardware could not be found to do it. Overall, it did not fix the problem. I tried hooking it up straight to the router via Ethernet, but that didn't work either. Could it be the antenna/card you mentioned? I'm going to browse the Samsung website and this one a little more to see what else it could be.

Are there any exclaimation marks next to your hardware listed in the device manager, network adapter area? Does your ethernet and/or wireless card show up there?
I did not find what I was looking for here but this link may be helpful to you anyway
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/NP-NB30-JP02US