Looking to buy a sub-$1000 laptop

headlesszombie

Honorable
May 2, 2012
Hey guys, recently decided I need to sell my junk HP (NEVER buying hp again now that I have some computer knowledge) and buy a mid end laptop. I will mainly be using this laptop for university which means it will be moving around a lot, and I would also like to do a little softcore gaming on it. It absolutely needs to be able to play sc2 at medium+ settings, and play games like D3 and tf2 without too much issue. Doesn't have to be maxed at 60fps or something silly but I don't want to play all those games at extremely low settings. Also I would be willing to spend a little more if I could even play bf3 on low settings because damn I love me my bf3.

My budget is $600-800 canadian, I might be willing to spend a tiny tiny bit more if the performance is worth it.

was looking at something like this:

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834215318CVF

(bonus points for being an asus ^.^ )

Oh, also I don't mind larger sized laptops, but it needs to have a good screen resolution that is a key component ^.^

and would also not mind playing even games like cod too if that's possible at my budget

opinions ?

headlesszombie

Honorable
May 2, 2012
ah just found this;

1. What is your budget?

$600-900

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

larger size preferred, not essential

3. What screen resolution do you want?

for my budget, probably 1600 x 900 I definitely don't want to go below that

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

nope

5. How much battery life do you need?

4ish hours is more than fine

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?