Basic Laptop + Camcoder vs. Advanced Laptop

achilles007

Honorable
Jun 19, 2012
Basically I have the choice between two laptops-- one 500, the other 800, with my budget being $800:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834246484

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834230144

I am purchasing the laptop for college-- general activities such as internet, email, microsoft office, and video uploading and editing (i think).

the only problem -- which you could've garnered from the last words in my preceding sentence-- is I have no experience and no clue about how to make videos, edit them or upload them. Hell, I've never even used Windows Movie Maker or a youtube account for uploading them. I don't have a camera either, which brings me to my initial question.

should I blow all $800 on the laptop equipped with the i7 quad, nVidia 540M?
Or should buy the $500 basic laptop with decent memory, and spend the $300 on a decent camcorder? (I mean afterall, even with all the latest computer technology you can't make a video, without the device to actually film/record it on).

And again me being totally new to the video editing thing and knowing the $500 computer isn't state of the art, would I be able to get by on managing with it? perhaps play around with some simple basic programs before moving on to something more advanced?

achilles007

Honorable
Jun 19, 2012
perhaps I should simplify this down a bit:

800 budget.

Laptop needed for college: Basic functions but also as well needed for making videos

But I dont have a camcorder to take the videos with.

will I be able to get by on a basic 500 laptop plus recorder for my first couple of years playing around making videos, or is their something else I should look into first?

navalweaponsofficer

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2012