How much is enough GB and RAM?

YRAY2

Honorable
May 20, 2012
I need to buy my granddaughter a laptop for college. It is her graduation gift. There are so many choices. I want to make sure that she has a good computer but I not want to get her much more than she really needs for school, etc.

Razec69

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2011
More importantly where did you want to buy it from?

Recently as a gift for my mother I bought her a Asus Laptop from Best Buy.

It has an i5, 6GB of RAM, 750GB HD, WiFi, and of course a DVD Burner. This was in all a $600 laptop. With a 2 year warranty and a slew of extras it ended up being shy of $1,000.

This is a very good laptop. While it doesn't compare to my main computer that I am on now it is more than enough for any college student.

I use this laptop for a lot of my IT classes. Not going to say I'm a straight A student and follow and read all my books to the T, but I get by very well with it.

I use common productivity software like Office 2010 -- my school offers it for $5. Also programs like Visual Basic, Oracle database management, and Photoshop.

All these programs run very well and never had slow-downs or any problems.

In essence what I'm saying here anything around $500 mark will be more than enough. I highly doubt -- correct me if I am wrong, your granddaughter will being doing much more than that or will need such a huge power house.

The reason I suggest this as well as that it has the power to be in good use for the next 2-3 years.

This is only my suggestion as I don't see why you should waste more.

But as the previous poster said if you have a budget we can accommodate you better.

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2006
I would say as a baseline, if she's mainly going to be doing things like checking email and doing papers, web browsing and music, etc but not a lot of high power stuff, anything with a dual core and 4gb of ram or better is going to be fine. I personally am an acer fan.