Broadcom WLAN driver for Acer 5750Z in XP

jeff009

Honorable
May 14, 2012
I recently purchased an Acer Aspire 5750Z laptop and I'm attempting to install Windows XP Pro onto it. (XP Pro because I have some older hardware and software which doesn't run under Win7).

I've managed to install 32-bit XP Pro, + SP3, and have managed to get drivers installed for everything exception the WLAN card, and I'm looking for some help to get it installed and running.

I know that the WLAN card is a Broadcom WLAN card, but I don't know the chip set. I'm new at this, but I guess for starters,
1) Are drivers available for my WLAN card for Win XP 32-bit? (I know not from the Acer site, but I mean elsewhere)
2) How do I determine the chipset of my LAN card? I was thinking that maybe if I knew the chip set I could try to locate drivers that way. Unfortunately, I'm not certain how to go about finding out what the chipset actually is.

Thanks,

Jeff

Solution
Look up the specifications for that laptop on Acer.com to find out the exact model of your WiFi card and then check for an XP driver for it with Google. If you know the exact model of WiFi card that you have and are having trouble finding the proper driver, then copy/paste the model name here and I'll look around for the drivers.

blazorthon

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2010
Look up the specifications for that laptop on Acer.com to find out the exact model of your WiFi card and then check for an XP driver for it with Google. If you know the exact model of WiFi card that you have and are having trouble finding the proper driver, then copy/paste the model name here and I'll look around for the drivers.

Solution

blazorthon

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2010