Portable Music Machine! What Specs? :o

RoZmX

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011
Hey guys..

I'm a music producer looking for a laptop to deliver enough power to produce the tracks I can at home.
I use FL Studio, Pro Tools as my main DAW's, I know almost any computer can run these soft wares alone.
The question is how much CPU power I REALLY need to support the software plus all the extra plugins.
Currently I only reach 4GB RAM while making music, and 30-40% CPU.

My PC specs are:

-128 m4 SSD
-2 500GB Caviar Blacks + 2 storage drives
-16GB RAM
-i5 2500k (no overclock)
-GTX 560 ti
-GA z68xp UD3
-750watt PSU

But all this is luxury! I game a bit and render video at times, extra hard drives for back up.
The laptop will be only for music.. If I'm only using 30-40% of CPU at home on an i5...
How will that translate on mobile processors w/ lower clock speeds etc.
What will be ENOUGH and what would you guys recommend?

Solution

Yep, there are Core i7 with the "M" designation (Dual Core) and the "QM" designation (Quad Core).

"Overkill" depends your expectations. Since the i7-2640m is dual core CPU with Hyper Threading you will still have a 30% - 40% load. But since the i7-2640m is clocked slower than your i5-2500k, it will naturally take longer to produce music. If you are willing to give up performance and save money and be able to produce music away from your studio / office, then even a Core i5-2410m should...
Laptop CPUs are a bit different that their desktop counterparts and it's not just about clock speeds. The primary difference is the number of cores. All desktop Sandy Bridge Core i5 CPUs are quad core and do not have Hyper Threading (HT). All laptop Core i5 CPUS are dual core and have HT. Only certain laptop Core i7 with the "QM" designation are quad core CPUs.