Record video through webcam in background

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sidey88

Honorable
Apr 4, 2012
Hello,
i want to use m laptop webcam to record videos in the background, without anyone noticing it.
i also want it to start recording as soon as the laptop is turnned on.

beefybish

Honorable
Apr 3, 2012
As WR2 said, you're gonna wanna check you're not breaking any laws by doing this. (It's illegal to film people without their permission)

That being said, there's some good software for recording videos through your webcam. The one I used to use was called "AMCAP". It's a very simple to use piece of software and lets you record videos and save them where you want. You'll just have to enable the program to run on PC startup.

Hope this helps

szaboaz

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2011
Hehe, the OP could have written something like this:

I'm a biologist and I'd like to record the blooming flowers of my Rhododendron, with my laptop's built-in webcam.
I switch my laptop off for the nights, so it would make my life easier if I didn't need to start the recording application every time I start the laptop at dawn.

Ta-damm, no legal problems whatsoever. :D

What you intend on doing is has a high probability of breaking the "Voyeurism Law" which can vary from state to state.

The criminal voyeurism statute of some states cover "a place where [one] would have a reasonable expectation of privacy", meaning:

(i) A place where a reasonable person would believe that he or she could disrobe in privacy, without being concerned that his or her undressing was being photographed or filmed by another; or

(ii) A place where one may reasonably expect to be safe from casual or hostile intrusion or surveillance.