Looking for a bargain that will play Starcraft 2

squirrelcar

Honorable
Mar 12, 2012
A friend recommended this site as a great resource for computer shopping. I'm a Physician Assistant, so I think I'm not an idiot, but honestly this stuff is beyond me and I'm hoping for some help buying a new laptop. Any guidance would rock. Thanks much!

1. What is your budget?

-Would ideally like to keep it around $600, $700 is really an upper limit for me. Refurbished is totally fine, I would even consider used.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

I don't care, as long as it has a numeric keypad.

3. What screen resolution do you want?

At least 1024 x 720

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

I don't know what this means - this is going to be my only computer, replacing another laptop.

5. How much battery life do you need?

Not a primary consideration. Whatever is standard is fine.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

I don't play games - but I bought Starcraft 2 and would like to be able to play it decently. I don't want to go crazy budgetwise just to play one game on a "High" setting...but it would nice to enjoy it.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)

Nothing significant - work stuff on Excel and Powerpoint. Lot of internet stuff.

Oh, and ideally an HDMI output to watch Netflix on my TV.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?

Not a primary consideration either, whatever is standard is fine. I have an external harddrive for backing up work stuff and I don't do digital movies or music.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.

Whatever is recommended.

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?